Old-Fashioned Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this recipe for the first time last year, and my family liked it so much, they asked me to make extra this year. You MUST make sure you heat to the temperature the recipe says--and the only other thing I noticed is I didn't even have enough to fill one cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I don't know what i did wrong but this recipe did not work for me twice. The directions are not clear as to how long it needs to cook. Does it need to boil the whole time? please be more specific. I'm not a novice but I felt like one. It is nothing but GOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Winterville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
this was simple. it did not cost a lot. it tasted good. it took me like five minutes to make. good job on suggesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Once I added the baking soda and salt the mixture foamed up and almost out of the pan. Then after putting it in the pan it NEVER hardened! It was chewy and stuck together. I guess I must have done something wrong, but I'm not sure what that was since I followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. The candy was thin, cripsy and perfect. The only draw back was that it was only sweet. I always imagined brittle to be more on the salty sweet side. If your looking for that effect, I suggest you use salted peanuts or add more salt. Other than that, it really is a wonderful recipe. 4 stars for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is the best peanut brittle I've ever tasted!!! I had to make it a few times to perfect it, but once you get the rhythm down, it's amazing. If cooked too long, it will burn the second the baking soda gets poured in so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This was a good brittle recipe but I think I will go back to my one that is just sugar, peanuts, water and salt. I think that one has a nicer "texture".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
The recipe failed to mention that the syrup and peanuts should be removed from heat before adding salt and baking soda. My brittle came out too airy and I think this would have helped. Also, the brittle did not spread - at all. Did I cook it too long? Sorry but I think I am going to try another recipe to see if it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is exactly what I was expecting with Peanut Brittle.. Although it is extremely chewy once it warms up in your mouth. Anyone know if there is any check I can do that would make it less chewy but keep the same taste? This was very easy to make too! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This was my first endeavor at making peanut brittle and it turned out just perfectly. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walloon Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States