Old-Fashioned Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This recipe was delicious, HOWEVER, it is VERY IMPORTANT that you heat the mixture to the "soft ball stage" using a candy thermometer BEFORE adding the nuts or it isn't going to harden properly! And either use butter before adding the baking soda or make sure your pan is plenty big because it does bubble a lot when you first add the soda. Also. Let it spread in the pan on its own, don't try and spread it even :) hope you enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSharpe701

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timberville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dayton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I make it every year at Christmas and everyone loves it!!! I make it as directed and heat 285 or above and it comes out nice and brittle. The butter makes it too greasy and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very chewing will not try this again, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This recipe is better than any I've ever tried! It's truely the BEST & closest to the old fashioned we knew as kids! I will only use this recipe. It's quick & easy & is thick...with sooo many air bubbles! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I should have read the reviews prior to making. It's been 2 hours and it is still nowhere near hard. I'm going to have to put it in the freezer or let it air out for days. I'm assuming that since I put the baking soda in that I can't liquefy it on the stove and cook it again. It's almost like caramels but doesn't hold the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Super easy to make and yummy! I'd never made peanut brittle before trying this recipe, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Excellent. Easy to make and everyone who tried it loved it. Definitely doubling this recipe next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I found this recipe several years ago, and have been using it ever since. It isn't Christmas without it. It does take a little time, but it is well worth it. The finished product is a crispy foam that is delicious. I do add 1 t of vanilla when I add the baking soda, but other than that, the recipe is perfect. I have made cashew brittle with this recipe, they were already roasted so I just waited for the syrup to be very close to the right brown and added them at the end. If you work fast, you can spread the brittle once it is on the cookie sheet, for a minute or two it will continue to foam. Just remember that it is napalm at that point, and treat it as such. Even after it is too cool to spread, you can get a burn that feels like it will never quit. This recipe is the one sweet recipe that I get requests for at Christmas. Off to the kitchen now to make some for New Years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love this recipe. It does take a few attempts to prefect it though. You need a candy thermometer. The temp must be at 300 degrees for it to set as a hard candy. If you don't get it to the right temp you end up with chewy candy. I also added a little bit of Vanilla extract when I heated the corn syrup, sugar and water. I found I didn't need to spray my cookie sheets. The brittle, when it is cool enough comes right up ready for cracking. Lets use some common sense people, start with a large enough pot. We have a chemical reaction occurring, with approximately 3 cups of ingredients and the only way it would boil over the pot is if you are using a sauce pan. Smarten up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I didn't make this one. I just want to give some advice. In order to get this to the proper consistency, you need to heat the sugar, water, and corn syrup to 300 degrees. It will take a while to get there. If using raw peanuts, make sure you add them earlier. If you don't, they'll still be raw. When I make brittle, I add the raw peanuts at around 225 degrees. Make sure you have everything ready to go, once you reach 300 degrees that is when you should add the salt and baking soda. Stir quickly, and then spread it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States