Old-Fashioned Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The recipe is fine BUT some very important steps have been missed which is why some of you have had troubles. Temperature is VERY important and is why some have not had the brittle harden for them. You need to use a candy thermometer and bring the mixture up to 300 degrees. Then, REMOVE from heat and add 1 tbsp of butter and then the baking soda. The butter should help it not over react and bubble over but you do want the bubbles because this is what makes the brittle, well, brittle! ;O) Also, warm up the pan that you will put the brittle into, this will also help it to spread. Hope this helps everyone because this is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Once I added the baking soda and salt the mixture foamed up and almost out of the pan. Then after putting it in the pan it NEVER hardened! It was chewy and stuck together. I guess I must have done something wrong, but I'm not sure what that was since I followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is exactly what I was expecting with Peanut Brittle.. Although it is extremely chewy once it warms up in your mouth. Anyone know if there is any check I can do that would make it less chewy but keep the same taste? This was very easy to make too! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I don't know what i did wrong but this recipe did not work for me twice. The directions are not clear as to how long it needs to cook. Does it need to boil the whole time? please be more specific. I'm not a novice but I felt like one. It is nothing but GOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Winterville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This is great!! To anyone that is making this the first time...it really takes a long while to get the mix to the perfect boil! Take your time and they are no fail!! I added 1 teaspoon molasses only because that is what my gramdma always did! It is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HWOODIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
The recipe failed to mention that the syrup and peanuts should be removed from heat before adding salt and baking soda. My brittle came out too airy and I think this would have helped. Also, the brittle did not spread - at all. Did I cook it too long? Sorry but I think I am going to try another recipe to see if it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is the best peanut brittle I've ever tasted!!! I had to make it a few times to perfect it, but once you get the rhythm down, it's amazing. If cooked too long, it will burn the second the baking soda gets poured in so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. The candy was thin, cripsy and perfect. The only draw back was that it was only sweet. I always imagined brittle to be more on the salty sweet side. If your looking for that effect, I suggest you use salted peanuts or add more salt. Other than that, it really is a wonderful recipe. 4 stars for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This was a good brittle recipe but I think I will go back to my one that is just sugar, peanuts, water and salt. I think that one has a nicer "texture".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Great recipe! I also tried adding a touch of molasses as suggested by another reviewer and it turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States