Old-Fashioned Peach Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I gave this recipe four stars versus five simply because I didn't think the topping was the best choice. If I'd left well enough alone and not added it then this would definite have been a five-star recipe! Besides, is there anything much better than pie ala mode? The sour cream gives the pie just enough "zip" to keep it from being overly sweet, and the use of fresh peaches made it extra yummy. Thanks, Cat Berner, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
very easy to make...not too sweet, it was the perfect pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cinnamonqueen
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Yum! My family loved this one. I used a gluten free crust and crumb top and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very easy to make and absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this last night and used 1 cup plain greek yogurt (low-Fat) instead of sour cream... MMMMMMMM this is a great dessert! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macy, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
We had just gotten a lug of peaches and I needed to use some of the smaller ones that were ripe so I tried this recipe. Everyone loved it! I did use 3 cups of peaches and put it in a 9" deep dish pie pan. It set up beautifully! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
very good as written but it think the topping has too much sugar in it, it will make again and adjust the amount of sugar for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Old-Fashioned Peach Cream Pie definitely has its own zest and appeal. One difference I found preferrable in this recipe was the use of sour cream instead of cream cheese. As one who finds creamy texture to be a bit overbearing, this pie was just the right amount of creaminess to be enjoyable. The next time I make this recipe, I would chop the peaches into smaller pieces so one bite would not have to consist of a mouthful of peach and nothing else. Furthermore, definitely be sure to drain the peaches well, or else the filling will make the crust soggy, even when chilled for hours, even days. Also, don't make the topping until ready to use, or else the butter softens too much and simply forms clumps instead of being evenly spread across the top of the pie. Overall, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I used frozen peaches, I don't think they were quite thawed enough. The custard took an extra 20 minutes to set. The topping didn't brown much in the 10 minutes, so I stuck it under the broiler, and it looks much better. I think if I. Make this recipe again, I will add the topping after the first 12 minutes and definitely thaw the peaches all the way. It looks delicious and I cant wait to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
this pie is scrumptious!!!!!! I tried it for the first time last sunday,my husband and I LOVED it. We ate the whole thing in less than a week. Just what I've been searching for, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shunda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Elgin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States