Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Made this last night and, while it came out well, it didn't especailly "wow" me. Overall, the cheesecake layer didn't have any taste of its own and if blindfolded, I don't think you could tell that you weren't eating a regular pumpkin pie. Like others, I found that it had too much filling for just one pie, and that it required about another 10 minutes of baking to finish it off. The crumbles on top were a nice touch and could be added to any pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This made far too much of the pumpkin mixture. I poured most of it in, and while cooking, it overflowed in the oven. I had to take the pie out and actually dump some of the mix down the sink. I cooked it for waaaay longer than called for, and the toothpick was NEVER clean. I cooked it a ridiculously long time. I couldn't keep it in the oven any longer, or else the bottom of the crust would have burned. The pie was still jiggly when I took it out. It got firmer while in the fridge, but the pie layer still wasn't a great texture. I made double the streusel recipe, and the amount was perfect. My husband thought it was pretty good. If I hadn't had such a pain in the cooking it (and cleaning up after it), I might have given it a better rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
A really refreshing change to the old favorite, but continues with an exciting combination of a cheesecake-like layer with struesel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I was never a fan of pumpkin pie until I tried this recipe. I absolutely love the pecan streusel topping, but everything about this pie is fantastic. No doubt one of my favourites. I will continue to make this pie for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
So good. I've made it for a couple events and even when I "messed it up" (put things in out of order) it was REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I made this several times, and it was wonderful! I doubled the recipe for the streusel topping, as my husband absolutely LOVES pecans. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Wonderful!!! The only change I did was after making the pie dough and forming it in the pie plate, I refrigerated it while preparing the 1st layer. Then instead of chilling the cream cheese mixture I then pour it into the cold prepared dough then chilled for about 20 min. Pour your pumpkin mixture in slowly to not disrupt the 1st layer. Got SUPER reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
We had this pie tonight and I was not as impressed as I had expected to be. All the layers just blended together and none of them really "Wow"-ed me. My guests all said it was good, but I doubt I will make it again. It was good, it just wasn't awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This came out wonderful, even better the next day. I probably served it before it completely set, but it had a wonderful flavor....of course, I add a little spiced rum to my pumpkin puree for a little kick. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States