Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Today is the third time I have made this pie. I wish I had come and reread the reviews before making this morning. The last two times my pie has marbled and I think that letting the cream cheese chill in the pie crust until very set is a GREAT idea. Also, pouring the top layer on extra careful would definately help. I just wanted to see if anyone else had this problem. OKAY...as far as everything else goes, I LOVE this pie. I double the streusal layer and today I added about 2 tablespoons of flour to pumpkin mixture to help it set a little better. This seems to do the trick as I am usually baking this pie WAY longer than recipe says. I would just plan on leaving the foil on at least an extra 15 minutes so, your crust doesn't burn if you need to contine baking pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was very good!! I read about other people's problems with the layers marbling, so I put my cream cheese mixture in the pie shell and in the freezer for 40 minutes. Then I slowly poured the pumpkin over it. Result? Two perfectly separated layers with zero mixing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
OH. MY. GOSH. I was making this pie and thinking, "This is a dangerous pie. I am frightened of this pie." And I was right. Wow it was great. I used a slightly larger pan, and I'm glad I did, because it would not have fit in a 9" pie pan. mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year! Instead of using a regular pie crust I made one with gingersnaps and used a springform pan. It was Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Wonderful!!! The only change I did was after making the pie dough and forming it in the pie plate, I refrigerated it while preparing the 1st layer. Then instead of chilling the cream cheese mixture I then pour it into the cold prepared dough then chilled for about 20 min. Pour your pumpkin mixture in slowly to not disrupt the 1st layer. Got SUPER reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was very good, like everyone says. I made no changes to the pie portion, but doubled the pecan topping part for more coverage (I used a big old pie pan.) Chilling the cheesecake layer for 30 min once it is in the pie shell worked great- no marbling. Baked up evenly, set perfectly. Really impressive pie that isn't actually difficult to make. Served w/bourbon whipped cream at a potluck- won best dessert! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. My sis-in-law says I'm to bring it every year from now on! I made mine in a deep-dish pie plate so I cooked it a bit longer during each step. I refrigerated the cream cheese layer in the pie shell for at least 1 hr before adding the pumpking layer & the layers remained separate. I too doubled the streusel layer, but there was some leftover over since my pie plate has a smaller diameter. Will definitely make again & again & again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingqueen
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Great recipe! I made it with just a couple of changes. I used Splenda for my diabetic husband. They now have a blend of brown sugar which is delicious! I used 4oz. more of cheese to help set the layer. The flavor was fantastic, and the layers turned out picture perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chenell
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I think the pie flavors are great! I wish I would have came in and read the reviews before making it. I made two for Thanksgiving and my family absolutely loved it! I had the problem with the layers mixing and next time I will probably freeze the cream cheese for a bit before putting in the pumpkin layer. Also doubling the pecan topping is a good idea. I also substituted the Neufandler (sp?) Cheese for cream cheese which has a third of the fat of normal cream cheese. My first pumpkin pie and cheese cake. Mine didn't overflow but it looked like it was going to burst out of the pan. I did have to bake it longer. I do believe that the high altitude had something to do with that. Definately worth a try! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I didn't like the flavor of the cheesecake layer. It was more of a custard in texture than a cheesecake. I think next time I'll try this with my own cheesecake on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States