Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made a few changes I used a graham carcker crust in a springform pan. I also soubled the crumble recipe and used 3T of oats instead of the nuts. I also added a little ginger to the pumpkin mix. turned out great. next time I will double the cheese mixture for a fuller bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEDRAGONFLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but somehow flubbed the whole thing...however, after having to bake it an extra 45 minutes and it not being a very pretty pie at all, it was still DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingqueen
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Great recipe! I made it with just a couple of changes. I used Splenda for my diabetic husband. They now have a blend of brown sugar which is delicious! I used 4oz. more of cheese to help set the layer. The flavor was fantastic, and the layers turned out picture perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was pretty good, but I thought the cheesecake layer was overpowered by the other layers. I might increase the cheesecake layer next time. Overall, a good pie that looks like it was a lot of work (it's really not though!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This pie was great. Next time I think I will do 1 and a half of the cream cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This pie never fails to get rave reviews and is always requested for holidays... I've been making it now for a few years, and have one cooking right now, actually. I use a deep dish pie shell and freeze the cheese layer like others until it's firm set so the layers don't mix. I make more topping depending on the coverage I get over the top, and any extra pumpkin filling goes into a dish and bakes up like a custard alongside the pie for us to snack on at home. I never liked pumpkin pie until I made it this way. Update: Couldn't get a deep dish shell this year, so I made a crust and baked this in a springform pan and it was wonderful... All the filling fit this time! This will be my preferred method now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This pie was gone in a flash -- my kids raved about it, and my picky three year old ate it and he's not a fan of pumpkin pie. I left off the pecans because the kids won't eat nuts, but the pie came out perfectly and the recipe didn't need any changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was a little nervous making this pie, as I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin pie, but this is the pie I will be making from now on. It was delicious! I refrigerated the cheesecake layer for about an hour in the pie crust and my layers stayed separate. Also, I doubled the topping ingredients and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
WOW! This pie is amazing! It definitely beats the traditional pumpkin. I did put it in the fridge to let the 1st layer set a bit. I spooned the 2nd layer on and it didn't marble at all. It took a bit longer to bake (maybe 20 mins or so). I also doubled the streusal layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DakotaSMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This turned out VERY well. I also tried with almonds since my in-laws' have so many almond trees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States