Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this pie! This year, I left off the pecan topping, but I have made it as directed in the past. Really good both ways! I prepare the cheesecake layer the night before and leave it in the freezer. Never had a problem with the layers mixing. Not sure about the people who say to double the bottom layer...it takes up half the pie as written. Filled the pumpkin layer to the brim, and still had a cup or so left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I'm not usually pumpkin pie fan, but I made this for a friend and it is one of our all-time fav recipes. I always double and make two. I also double the pecan topping for each pie, add 2 Tbs. flour to pumpkin, and bake a little longer than suggested. Amazing Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
WOW!! My family said this was a new tradition! My dad kept sneaking until it was gone!! Definitely a keeper! I did freeze the bottom layer as suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good most definitely a keeper. I did make some small changes. For some reason my cheesecake layer rose to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was really, really good!! I did make more, thicker cheesecake layer, as per other reviews, and cooled it as well before the pumpkin layer. I found the pumpkin to be quite runny, but it turned out awesome, and doubled the streusal, as that is what the recipe and the picture are. The recipe even made enough for 3 eight inch pies, as that is all I have. Will definitely be making again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I used to make homemade pumpkin pies and my family loved them. Then I started making the double layer and they no longer liked the regular pie. Last year I made this pie and my family no longer wants the double layer pie they only want this pie. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as it says but doubled the streusel, because I wanted a generous crunchy topping. It turned out perfect! There is just the right balance of pumpkin, cheesecake and streusel. The baking time was right on and I had no problem with the layers mixing together. My husband liked the fact that the pie wasn't overly sweet. I served the pie with fresh whipped cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
YUM! My husband said this was the best pie he has ever tried! I doubble the recipe to make two pies, and one of my pies sank in the middle under the pecan streusel and the other did not. I'm not sure why that happened. I think that was my error and not the recipe. This is going to be my official pumpie pie recipe. I think it's amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Wow, three pies in one! It was such a hit with my family for the holidays! I think it will be a staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made a few changes I used a graham carcker crust in a springform pan. I also soubled the crumble recipe and used 3T of oats instead of the nuts. I also added a little ginger to the pumpkin mix. turned out great. next time I will double the cheese mixture for a fuller bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEDRAGONFLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States