Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
did not like this pie, i prefer traditional pumpkin pie. everyone else at the dinner seemed to like it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Such a great receipe! I followed the suggestion of a couple other people and allowed the cream cheese filling to chill in the fridge for one hour instead of 30 minutes. It's the best recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This pie tasted good, but didnt look too great as the lower level floated partially to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
My daughter baked this pie for a pumpkin pie contest at her middle school. It was judged the winner by both the teachers and 4 classes of 7th grade students. Our family loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Fancier than your basic pumpkin pie and worth the extra effort. I've made this with and without the pecans and both ways it's been great. It presents well too. People look at it wide eyed and just know it's rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was my 1st time making Thanksgiving dinner, and my husband and I loved this pie! I went upscale on every dish, and this version of pumkin pie will not disappoint! It was fabulous. Very rich, but fabulous! I have never been crazy about pumpkin pie, but I knew my husband loved it so I thought that the cheesecake layer would make this something we both would like. Boy am I glad I tried it. My husband devoured it and swore it was the best pumpkin pie he had ever eaten. I served it a few hours after dinner with coffee and Haagen Daaz vanilla ice cream. Yummy! Bravo Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This did not turn out at all like I expected. Should have done a tester pie before taking it to Thanksgiving dinner. It still tasted good. But, the cream cheese layer never set and combined with the pumpkin layer. Also, had to use about a stick of butter with the pecans in order for it to spread over the top. 2 tablespoons is nothing to disolve 2 tablespoons of sugar. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Absolutely sensational! I ran out of vanilla and used _maple_ extract, and WOW. Also, even though I slowly spooned the pumpkin layer onto the cheesecake layer, it still marbled; but the effect was really quite pretty. If one really wanted to keep the layers seperate, perhaps refrigerating the cheesecake layer longer would help. Overall, a new holiday favorite. I will be looking for excuses to make this. Thank you, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Let me first say I'm not normally a pie person...for that matter I'm not much of a sweets person. But in the spirit of Thanksgiving I wanted to make something special for our dessert. I kinda wanted a regular pumpkin pie, but my boyfriend wanted a pecan pie and he also likes cheesecake. So, when I came across this recipe I thought it was just made for us. I can not put into words how much I LOOOOOVED this pie!!! This was the second pie I've ever made. The first was made immediately before this one and was a simple pumpkin pie that was going to be donated. I took the advice of other reviews and slowly scooped the pumpkin mixture on top of the cheesecake layer, and it turned out perfect. This just might be the dessert that will turn me into a sweet tooth. In fact, I'm eating a piece of it right now and can't wait to get another helping ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This is the best non-traditional pumpkin pie I've tasted in a long time. Easy to make, but a little time consuming BUT so worth the wait!!! I even used fresh pumpkin instead of the can stuff. Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe! This is a definite for the Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States