Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I am making this pie for the 6th time & have learned to make a few small changes that improved an almost perfect pie. First, as others commented, you have to chill the cream cheese layer in the fridge or freezer for a half hour prior to adding the pumpkin in order to get a nice layered effect. I also recommend doubling the strudel or you will not have enough to cover the top of the pie nicely. I found the cream cheese layer to be pretty tasteless so I added a about 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice & a bit of fine orange zest to the cream cheese mixture. It did not overwhelm the pumpkin layer & the brightness of the orange zest complemented the other flavors nicely. Lastly, all of the flavors in this pie improve greatly if you make it a day ahead. The 1st time I tried this recipe, I baked it in the AM and served it that evening. It was good and all my guests liked it. The next day we had another slice that evening & everyone noticed that it had so much more flavor. An extra day let the flavors shine through and I like being able to make it ahead knowing it only gets better with time. This pie is everyone's favorite & I no longer have to make a cheese cake & a pumpkin pie to satisfy everyone dessert wish at Thanksgiving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This pie was sooo yummy!! Everyone loved it!! I did make a few changes--- like many others, i chilled the cheesecake layer for about an hour. for the pecan layer i doubled the pecans and i added honey and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
loved it with no changes except I didn't have any pecans on hand. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. I too, let the cheesecake filling chill in the pie shell for about 25 minutes and then added the pumpkin. I then had to bake for about 50 minutes, and I added the streusel--a double recipe of it. The pie cut perfectly and eveyone loved it. I will make this every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Best pie recipe! I make it for my family every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sachy03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Next time I'll add a bit more spice. I put the cream cheese mixture in the pie crust and refrigerated it while I mixed up the other two. Came out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Yummy!!! I am a pumpkin pie fanatic...always make a traditional pie, and look for other variations as as secondary pie...this was it this year and what a great pick! Made exactly per recipe...only thing I might try is flavoring the cheesecake layer next time. Only because I don't like traditional cheesecake "taste," totally a personal preference. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Absolutely de-liscious!!! Only problem I had was that mine marbled as well. I even chilled the cheese layer for an hour in the chilled pie shell....hmmm I'll have to try something different next time...maybe more cream cheese would make it thicker. It is so so so good though that it didn't matter as it was gone before anyone could notice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW!! I'm not even a big fan of pumkin pie and I loved this recipe!! Everyone was very impressed...It was my first year of being asked to bring the pumkin pie and now it will be requested every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This pie is amazing!!! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a HIT with everyone. I cant wait to make it again at christmas! Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States