Old Fashioned Paradise Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I was never a huge fan of pumpkin pie during the holidays - this is a FABULOUS alternative and so easy to make. It will be appearing at all Thanksgiving meals from now on!! (I did have an issue with the marbling, but will try out the suggestions to eliminate that - either way it's still yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I hate pumkin pie but I adore cheesecake, so I hoped the layering affect would meet somewhere in the middle for me. With a small scoop of vanilla ice cream, and the pie still warm... it still was too pumpkiny. I think the recipe is fine, its just my taste buds that are off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I'm digging this pie pretty hard. I went the route of chilling the cheesecake layer for an hour then freezing that layer in the crust for another half our or so. it came out perfectly. also, adding 2T of flour (as suggested by an earlier post) was key. i'm using this pie as my birthday cake so i'm stoked it came out well :) thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I did get a little mixing even though I poured the cheesecake mixture over a frozen pie crust and left that in the freezer. The pecan topping though hid any imperfections. The taste was really great, although next time I think I'll add some cinnamon to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This pie was terrific!!! I always bring 1 pumpkin, 1 pecan pie (grandma's texas recipe), and 1 fruit pie to Christmas and Thanksgiving. I was told for this Christmas to drop the pecan pie, because this pie takes care of both pies, with NO leftovers (bummer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. My sis-in-law says I'm to bring it every year from now on! I made mine in a deep-dish pie plate so I cooked it a bit longer during each step. I refrigerated the cream cheese layer in the pie shell for at least 1 hr before adding the pumpking layer & the layers remained separate. I too doubled the streusel layer, but there was some leftover over since my pie plate has a smaller diameter. Will definitely make again & again & again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is a great pie...easy to make but it looks like a labor intensive dessert! I made this before Thanksgiving for a dinner party to see if it was a keeper for Thanksgiving....OH YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chenell
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I think the pie flavors are great! I wish I would have came in and read the reviews before making it. I made two for Thanksgiving and my family absolutely loved it! I had the problem with the layers mixing and next time I will probably freeze the cream cheese for a bit before putting in the pumpkin layer. Also doubling the pecan topping is a good idea. I also substituted the Neufandler (sp?) Cheese for cream cheese which has a third of the fat of normal cream cheese. My first pumpkin pie and cheese cake. Mine didn't overflow but it looked like it was going to burst out of the pan. I did have to bake it longer. I do believe that the high altitude had something to do with that. Definately worth a try! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Today is the third time I have made this pie. I wish I had come and reread the reviews before making this morning. The last two times my pie has marbled and I think that letting the cream cheese chill in the pie crust until very set is a GREAT idea. Also, pouring the top layer on extra careful would definately help. I just wanted to see if anyone else had this problem. OKAY...as far as everything else goes, I LOVE this pie. I double the streusal layer and today I added about 2 tablespoons of flour to pumpkin mixture to help it set a little better. This seems to do the trick as I am usually baking this pie WAY longer than recipe says. I would just plan on leaving the foil on at least an extra 15 minutes so, your crust doesn't burn if you need to contine baking pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Made this last night and, while it came out well, it didn't especailly "wow" me. Overall, the cheesecake layer didn't have any taste of its own and if blindfolded, I don't think you could tell that you weren't eating a regular pumpkin pie. Like others, I found that it had too much filling for just one pie, and that it required about another 10 minutes of baking to finish it off. The crumbles on top were a nice touch and could be added to any pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States