Old-Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
First time I followed the recipe to a tee. Other than a little too much baking powder, this was perfect, hence only four stars. Every time I have made them, they have come out great. Just follow what other reviewers suggest about less baking powder. Oh, and I forgot to put sugar in them the last time, and these tasted great still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
We thought they were divine! The only change I always make is to use 3/4 cup buttermilk + 3/4 cup skim and they are just perfect. I've also added a small can of pumkin puree with a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 cup brown sugar and a little extra milk for great pumpkin pancakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Great on its own, easy and delicious, but it also works well if you add fruit to the batter (e.g. Blueberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I added some vanilla extract and cinnamon to it. Then baked it in the oven in a cake pan I have that makes 6 little cakes at 350 for about half an hour. Check with a toothpick to make sure there's no runny mix in the middle. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
These are amazing, nice thick pancakes, and taste great, . My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This recipe is amazing! Thank you Chef John ^^ Buuuut I did tweek it a little. I thought at one point that 3 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder was too much, also with one batch I made the pancakes had sort of a slight baking powder smell after taste to me when they were cooled down so in my recent batch I used only 1 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and let the batter sit for a few mins and they still came out GREAT!!! ^^ Also I LOve butter so I used a whole stick lol And!! I use a little bit of canola oil to cook my pancakes in because I like the crispy edges they produce from it. But this recipe if done my way comes out soo delicious. Usually with box stuff I had to use a bunch of butter and syrup just so that they would taste decent but with this I only needed a little syrup which made me happy and next time i'll try different toppings and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyB Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Amazing recipe, nice taste, texture and appearance. My family loved it. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Made these for the second time this morning! So easy, quick and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
These are the most marvelous pancakes I have ever made, or eaten for that matter!! The only changes I made to this recipe are insignificant to the impeccable texture and flavor these pancakes have with no changes! However the changes I did make consist of: letting the milk warm to room temperature and whisking the egg, then melted butter, then a splash of pure vanilla extract, and I also sprinkled some cinnamon in with the dry mix for a little more flair. TALK ABOUT DELICIOUS! I could have these for breakfast every day. Also I cannot stress enough how important it is to let the batter rest. That is where the fluffy pancakes come from! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by radchelss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henryville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Not our favorite. Followed recipe to a T. My two year old wouldn't eat them, even with chocolate chips in them. Not much flavor and too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States