Old-Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I couldn't even eat the pancakes they were so salty. The recipe might be good if you add less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KirstenF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
First time I followed the recipe to a tee. Other than a little too much baking powder, this was perfect, hence only four stars. Every time I have made them, they have come out great. Just follow what other reviewers suggest about less baking powder. Oh, and I forgot to put sugar in them the last time, and these tasted great still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
We thought they were divine! The only change I always make is to use 3/4 cup buttermilk + 3/4 cup skim and they are just perfect. I've also added a small can of pumkin puree with a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 cup brown sugar and a little extra milk for great pumpkin pancakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Great on its own, easy and delicious, but it also works well if you add fruit to the batter (e.g. Blueberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I added some vanilla extract and cinnamon to it. Then baked it in the oven in a cake pan I have that makes 6 little cakes at 350 for about half an hour. Check with a toothpick to make sure there's no runny mix in the middle. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
These are amazing, nice thick pancakes, and taste great, . My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This recipe is amazing! Thank you Chef John ^^ Buuuut I did tweek it a little. I thought at one point that 3 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder was too much, also with one batch I made the pancakes had sort of a slight baking powder smell after taste to me when they were cooled down so in my recent batch I used only 1 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and let the batter sit for a few mins and they still came out GREAT!!! ^^ Also I LOve butter so I used a whole stick lol And!! I use a little bit of canola oil to cook my pancakes in because I like the crispy edges they produce from it. But this recipe if done my way comes out soo delicious. Usually with box stuff I had to use a bunch of butter and syrup just so that they would taste decent but with this I only needed a little syrup which made me happy and next time i'll try different toppings and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyB Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Amazing recipe, nice taste, texture and appearance. My family loved it. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Made these for the second time this morning! So easy, quick and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
These are the most marvelous pancakes I have ever made, or eaten for that matter!! The only changes I made to this recipe are insignificant to the impeccable texture and flavor these pancakes have with no changes! However the changes I did make consist of: letting the milk warm to room temperature and whisking the egg, then melted butter, then a splash of pure vanilla extract, and I also sprinkled some cinnamon in with the dry mix for a little more flair. TALK ABOUT DELICIOUS! I could have these for breakfast every day. Also I cannot stress enough how important it is to let the batter rest. That is where the fluffy pancakes come from! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by radchelss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henryville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States