Old-Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
easy to make and so much better than boxed. I've tried both sifting and skipping the step and both create good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Amazing!! I add 1 tbl brown sugar, 1 tbl vanilla and sometimes 1/4 tsp cinnamon. These are by far the best pancakes on the planet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I couldn't even eat the pancakes they were so salty. The recipe might be good if you add less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KirstenF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
First time I followed the recipe to a tee. Other than a little too much baking powder, this was perfect, hence only four stars. Every time I have made them, they have come out great. Just follow what other reviewers suggest about less baking powder. Oh, and I forgot to put sugar in them the last time, and these tasted great still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
We thought they were divine! The only change I always make is to use 3/4 cup buttermilk + 3/4 cup skim and they are just perfect. I've also added a small can of pumkin puree with a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 cup brown sugar and a little extra milk for great pumpkin pancakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I added thinly sliced apple pieces and blueberries once. Works well with this recipe. But it is already great and easy as it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I added some vanilla extract and cinnamon to it. Then baked it in the oven in a cake pan I have that makes 6 little cakes at 350 for about half an hour. Check with a toothpick to make sure there's no runny mix in the middle. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
These are amazing, nice thick pancakes, and taste great, . My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This recipe is amazing! Thank you Chef John ^^ Buuuut I did tweek it a little. I thought at one point that 3 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder was too much, also with one batch I made the pancakes had sort of a slight baking powder smell after taste to me when they were cooled down so in my recent batch I used only 1 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and let the batter sit for a few mins and they still came out GREAT!!! ^^ Also I LOve butter so I used a whole stick lol And!! I use a little bit of canola oil to cook my pancakes in because I like the crispy edges they produce from it. But this recipe if done my way comes out soo delicious. Usually with box stuff I had to use a bunch of butter and syrup just so that they would taste decent but with this I only needed a little syrup which made me happy and next time i'll try different toppings and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyB Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Amazing recipe, nice taste, texture and appearance. My family loved it. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States