Old-Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I love the recipe, but it was to thick for me, and it took a long time to cook all the way threw the pancakes. So I added more milk and played around till I got how I like my pancake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
The whole family loved it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Amazing, now I only make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I make a double batch every Saturday. We love them and I love that I can make them from what I always have on hand! If you get inconsistent results (I definitely have), here are my suggestions: 1. Replace butter with vegetable oil or warm the milk. I found that when I mixed the melted butter with cold milk, it rehardened. I started using vegetable oil instead and my results have been better. I cook them in butter to get some butter flavor back. 2. Add milk gradually and get familiar with you preferred batter thickness. I don't know if my flour and milk measuring skills are poor or what, but sometimes these are perfect and sometimes too thin. For me it came down to having too much milk on the thin days, so I pour the milk in a little at a time and keep an eye on the consistency. And if are little short on milk, don't be shy about adding water. Just add gradually and watch the consistency and it will work out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Paonessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Needed an extra 1/4 cup of milk and we added 2 caps of vanilla extract, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana A Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I sub'd some sour cream for some of the milk...excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Amazing. I used spelt flour in place of AP flour. Coconut oil in place of butter. Soured milk. And 2 tablespoons cornstarch added to the flour. The pancakes turned out so amazing and fluffy. I threw in some chopped pecans and walnuts. Topped w cream cheese and maple syrup. May sound strange. But oh so good. My kids and hubby polished them off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasmin Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Kids loved these so much I couldn't get them off the griddle fast enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
These are perfect exactly as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
They came out great , I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg for extra flavour and they were perfect .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jojo B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States