Old-Fashioned Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this for my Aunt who LOVES onions. She really enjoyed it. Will DEFINITELY make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
needs more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I used beef instead of chicken as well. I just didn't care too much for it, and I doubt I would have even if I had used chicken. My parents thought it was pretty good, tho. I'm glad I tried it regardless. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
this was great! I made the soup in my slow cooker but did not put the bread or cheese in it until I was ready to serve it. I put the bread and cheese on the soup and tosted it in the oven... very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k4rin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This soup requires excellent onions to turn out as savory and flavorful as needed. If you're working with lower-quality or even run-of-the-mill onions, you will need to season it. I added white wine to pump up the flavor, as well as a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a good starter recipe. Next time I make it I will use a bit less onion andquite a bit more broth. The changes I already made were to use beef broth instead of chicken, and I didn't add the bread while it cooked. I added the bread to the bowls and put provolone cheese on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I used Beef Broth and it was excellent. Will make again. I've never seen this recipe use anything other than Beef Broth, however, some people can have a digestive problem with Beef products so I think the chicken broth would work for those who like that. It's all a matter of preference and there's something to suit everyone. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I love love love having dinner ready for me. My boyfriend said this was the best onion soup recipe I've made yet. I used Vidalia onions and cut the recipe in half. The only change I made was to use a really good beef broth instead of chicken. The soup was good as is, but of course I couldn't resist adding another slice of bread topped with cheese, baked on top. Excellent comfort food on what turned out to be a very difficult day for us both. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Yum. I didn't put in the bread (we served it on the side). I also needed much more liquid! Next time I'll either use small onions, or chop the rings in half as it was a bit messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It made for a great dinner to come home to after a long cold day. My husband really loved this soup! The only change I made was to add beef broth instead of chicken. This also freezes well. I froze the leftovers to use as lunch at work. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKOSTER1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States