Old-Fashioned Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this for my Aunt who LOVES onions. She really enjoyed it. Will DEFINITELY make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
needs more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I used beef instead of chicken as well. I just didn't care too much for it, and I doubt I would have even if I had used chicken. My parents thought it was pretty good, tho. I'm glad I tried it regardless. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
this was great! I made the soup in my slow cooker but did not put the bread or cheese in it until I was ready to serve it. I put the bread and cheese on the soup and tosted it in the oven... very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k4rin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This soup requires excellent onions to turn out as savory and flavorful as needed. If you're working with lower-quality or even run-of-the-mill onions, you will need to season it. I added white wine to pump up the flavor, as well as a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a good starter recipe. Next time I make it I will use a bit less onion andquite a bit more broth. The changes I already made were to use beef broth instead of chicken, and I didn't add the bread while it cooked. I added the bread to the bowls and put provolone cheese on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I used Beef Broth and it was excellent. Will make again. I've never seen this recipe use anything other than Beef Broth, however, some people can have a digestive problem with Beef products so I think the chicken broth would work for those who like that. It's all a matter of preference and there's something to suit everyone. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I love love love having dinner ready for me. My boyfriend said this was the best onion soup recipe I've made yet. I used Vidalia onions and cut the recipe in half. The only change I made was to use a really good beef broth instead of chicken. The soup was good as is, but of course I couldn't resist adding another slice of bread topped with cheese, baked on top. Excellent comfort food on what turned out to be a very difficult day for us both. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Yum. I didn't put in the bread (we served it on the side). I also needed much more liquid! Next time I'll either use small onions, or chop the rings in half as it was a bit messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It made for a great dinner to come home to after a long cold day. My husband really loved this soup! The only change I made was to add beef broth instead of chicken. This also freezes well. I froze the leftovers to use as lunch at work. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKOSTER1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States