Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
These were real yummy. A good crispy onion ring. Left overs are excellent re-heated due to the crisp factor. I did add some garlic powder to the flour mixture and soaked the onions rings in water (this process of soaking takes the strong oniony flavor out of onions if that's what you prefer. The water coating also helped the flour mixture to adhere better). The only problem I had with this recipe was that after you coat the onion rings with flour mixture, it doesn't realy specify how much you flour mixture you are left with. I had to make more flour mixture in order to have enough when adding egg mixture (maybe this was the case due to my decision to soak in water. Overall these were realy GREAT and I'll def. make it again. Thanks Jeanharmon:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
These were really crisp and tasty! I actually didn't read the recipe carefully and later realized I made them a little different than it said. After coating with flour, I dipped the onions into the milk/egg mixture (no flour), then I coated them with bread crumbs. Next time I may try them as written but I'm not sure that I will like them as much! My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I liked the way these cooked, they look like So*ic onion rings. The taste was ok, sorta bland. I will probably look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
my hubby is an onion ring fanatic and after i made these he once again professed his love for me and my cooking. i would definately recommend and they do taste like the ones from americas "popular" drive in!! i did add a little season salt and garlic to my flour as i used homemade unseasoned bread crumbs...cant wait to have again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
All day long I've been craving onion rings...I just tried this recipe and it really hits the spot! These onion rings are extremely yummy and I will definitely be making them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
These were pretty good! The coating was really crispy but a little bit bland - I should have added more s&p, and maybe some garlic powder. They were incredibly messy to make, but the results were worth it. Thanks! (Yet again it should be pointed out that the calorific value given for this recipe includes the entire quart of oil used for frying. It's not as if you drink the oil... *rolls eyes*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
It was great,i did follow the advice of one the reviwers and put the rings in water wich made it easier for the banking powder and flour to stick,also i used crushed plain crackers instead of bread crumbs. thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYLA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Fantastic and easy to make. Our guests always love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This is very good - I will definitely use again! One part on the instructions though; when you cover in bread crumbs, I would recommend using a mixing bowl and fork to swirl around - it doesn't work very well to use a shallow platter/plate and try to press the crumbs on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My family and I just got through making these delicious onion rings. This is the recipe I have been searching for. I wouldn't change a thing. They are perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 948) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States