Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
i've made this many many times and it is my official onion rings recipe that i will pass on to my children, grandchildren and great grandchildren in the future. the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I was short on potatoes so I was looking for a batter recipe for battered scolloped potatoes. This was perfect, I sliced potatoes 1/4 inch thick in rounds. A few potatoes went a long way doing like this.Thanks next time I will try the onion rings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very tasty but very messy and time consuming. I may try to make a batch ahead and freeze until I am ready cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I read the directions, and then followed them pretty casually. Used beer instead of milk (beer-battered?), and then added some powdered potatoes to the batter. I didn't know how thick the batter should be, so I went with "the thicker the better- more gunk!". I later learned that the thinner batter works better- lighter, crispier, more delicious onion! While I think my rings were pretty successful, making them was such a terrifying experience. When someone else prepares fried foods you don't realize the scope of how unhealthy it is, just deliciousness. I love my occasional share of junk food, though after a few onion rings I just felt really disgusting. Probably good for sharing with many people, though a large serving is just sickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Really good - crispy without the grease. Followed another review using panko - perfect onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
The batter had a weird ... stiff consistency that threw these onion rings off. Maybe two eggs are too many? Flavor was good but the batter was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this recipe! LOVED how they turned out! The only change I made was that I used equal parts of plain breadcrumbs and panko. The panko gave them a wonderful crunch. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGarcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a GREAT onion ring recipe - can't beat making your own at home and tastes just like your favorite drive-in rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have never made onion rings at home before until I tried this recipe. They turned out great. I don't know why I never thought of making these at home. They so beat the cold onion rings it seems that I get in a restaurant. My husband really liked them too. Instead of having hamburgers and fries, I think I will rotate with the onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best onion rings I ever made. I don't know why this recipe has some bad reviews.This came so well crispy not greasy. I had done breading each single onion slices so took longer but ok. I used Progresso Bread crumbs (Plain) if it helps you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States