Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These onion rings are wonderful! I'm writing this while I'm eating them! My hubby just commented that they are perfect! Thank you for this recipe as I have tried many that failed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Jeanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
These were GREAT!! Due to lack of money to buy all ingredients as is, I had to make a few alterations, but I do believe I'm sticking to them! I used Gold Medal "better for bread" flour instead of all-purpose, I used evaporated milk instead of regular (whick comes in handy for french toast and other recipes when I'm out of milk, and it"s alot cheaper), instead of eggs I used about 4 tbs. Helmans mayonnaise with olive oil, and I used Italian bread crumbs instead of regular. I also added about 3/4 tsp. garlic powder to the flour mix. I usually use the pancake batter recipe for onion rings, but these are so much crispier and less greasy. I made these for me and my son when he got out of work, and we both agree that this ones a keeper!! THANKS TO THE SUBMITTER!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I added corn meal to the bread crumbs. They turned out super crunchy. My boyfriend loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and these are the BEST onion rings I have ever had. Even my husband who is not crazy over onion rings loved them. I did not find them greasy at all. They are a little time consuming but well worth it if you want a fantastic onion ring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Oh my goodness...sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
My husband and I absolutely LOVE this recipe. We didn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Voymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wixom, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Delicious Recipe!!! Exactly like what I used to get at the drive thru!! The batter is amazing, it stays crunchy and doesnt make the onions soggy. The flavour was spot on, especially with the final sprinkle of salt at the end. There is no need to look for other batter recipes, this is all you need! I just added a bit more flour to the wet ingredients to make it a bit thicker, but just the same, this recipe is Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
the onions rings tasted good .. but it absorbed alot of oil. had 2 use 3 more onions coz there was lot of batter . wont be makin it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Bwst onion rings i have ever made. Much better than battered onion rings, very similar to the ones you get in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I took one of the reviewers advise and used a 1 gallon ziploc bag to do all the mixing. I'm all about less mess. Used cornflake crumbs instead of bread crumbs and Pamela's Baking Flour in place of flour to make recipe gluten free. Terrific! No one would ever guess they were gluten free. So crispy and not greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 943) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States