Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
We liked them better without the bread crumbs, but very good and easy to make either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is definitely the best recipe for onion rings!! My husband just loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sand Fork, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Poncha Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Delicious! This was my first time trying O-rings. I doubled the salt in the mix and used olive oil to cook them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was an outstanding recipe! I made it with BBQ chicken and potato salad. Everyone loved it! It did taste like the onion rings you get at restaurants!! I followed the recipe exact but I did choose to use Panko instead of plain bread crumbs. Coating was crunchy and onions were soft and delicious! This was my first time ever attempting to make homemade onion rings and now this is the ONLY recipe I will use!!! 10 Stars!! You will be so glad you chose this recipe, I promise! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janea Perry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I loved these. They're kind of messy to make, but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I loved these onion rings and made them pop just that little bit by adding some dried ranch dressing to the flour mix. Loved the tip about putting the battered rings on a cooling tray. Clean up took less than two mins while the burgers were cooking. They were super crisp and the onion was sweet and delicious. I am watching carbs but could not resist a couple of these. I used panko and did not add egg to the batter - just a little milk. They were perfect and hubbby was thrilled with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These were super, however we followed another reviewers suggestion and used Panko as our final crumb coating. Also, I decreased the salt to only 1 tsp, added 1/4 cup sugar to the egg mixture, and 1/2 tsp vanilla (similar to an old drive-in restaurant)and as modified, we will make these from here on out. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the easy clean up advice from Christina B and that helped a lot. I used the panko breadcrumbs only because it was all I had on hand. I actually loved the panko crumbs better than regular breadcrumbs. This recipe is delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Best onion rings ever! Occasionally, rather than grilling burgers, I'll pan fry them. These onion rings are the perfect complement to the burger. There never seems to be enough. My only complaint is that they take a lot longer than 18 minutes to cook. But the end result is worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
The best one I have ever tried! It fluffs up nicely and covers your onions well (or anything you want to deep fry) As a fan of Paprika spice I added some and mmmm .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States