Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Can't believe I haven't reviewed these before. They are amazing!!!! Just sub in 1 cup beer for the one cup milk and you have the best of both worlds, beer battered rings with crispy coating. Serve with Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing (recipe on this site). To blue cheese dressing I add 2 TBSP minced onion, 1 TBSP minced garlic, 1 TBSP lemon juice, and 1 TBSP white wine vinegar. Delicious! Worth buying a deep fryer just to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
These were Delish....and as my husband put it, "total restaurant quality!" Thick,crispy,flavorful! Followed the exact recipe, and were Very pleased :) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miakolar16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Look no further if you want onion rings that are crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. I used Italian Style Panko Bread Crumbs which proved to be a great choice. Using this batter on fresh striped bass made for an excellent fried piece of fish as well. Five Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and it was the best. A lot of the recipes for onion rings are really greasy/soggy but these were crunchy and tasted wonderful. The only thing I changed with the recipe was I used wheat Ritz crackers instead of the bread crumbs. I will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Fantastic! We made these as the inaugural use of our deep fryer. It was the PERFECT way to start our deep fry fascination! The kids declared them, "Just like a restaurant!" I predict we'll be making these often (hopefully not too often or we'll have to be rolled out doorways). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Its so easy to make. Even me at 14 years old could make it!!!!! Also it tastes sooooooooo goooddddd!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skye731

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
These are really good, crispy and tasty. My husband likes them better than store-bought or restaurant onion rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These were awesome!! They tasted exactly like A&W's! Only thing I did different from the recipe was to use italian style breadcrumbs and crushed crackers(didn't have any plain breadcrumbs,and a touch too little of them,so that's where the crackers came in!) Hubby said he wants these in our regular rotation of food! I still cannot get over how amazing they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
These were awesome!!! I started to make them and realized I didn't have any milk, so I substituted BEER! They were FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
SUPERB! These onion rings are heavenly! Would go great with some of the tangy sauce you get with the Blooming Onion at Outback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 925) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States