Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I had to add that there is no need to tweak this recipe at all - it is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe the first time I tried it! I have even used it for fried chicken multiple times (add spices like cajun or smoked paprika to the batter and bread crumbs), it is amazing!! It's the only way I cook onion rings and fried chicken now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunny170

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these Onion Rings one day for my family but instead of using 1 onion I used 2 because I thought 1 just wouldn't be enough. HUGE mistake! 1 onion would have been plenty. I also used Panko bread crumbs for that incredible crunch. Absolutely delicious and way better than any Onion Ring you order in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Pretty foolproof recipe, but a little messy and the ratio of batter to onion to breadcrumbs was off. I needed at least twice as many breadcrumbs to get through an entire large onion, and there was leftover batter. With panko crumbs, these come out impeccably crunchy. I fried them in a skillet with about 1/2 inch of oil and flipped them once as I don't have a deep fryer - works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Substituted cracker crumbs for the bread crumbs. It was delicious, tasted like they came from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
It was very good and I loved it. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My first time making onion ring. I wanted a more fluffy yet crispy breading.SO I did tweaked it a bit. I made bread crumbs from bread slices baked 10-15 mins in oven, then crumbled in blender. I added the bread crumbs to the batter and dipped rings and immediately dip rings in oil cooking for about 2 mins. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Ya I tried this recipe on my family and they loved it...Me I don't like onion rings but I will make it for them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
im so not surprised about the 5 Star this is the best very simple just remember to cut the onion quite thick :) i would have put a pic up but they were gone before i could even get them on the dinner plate haha will def become a regular i think :D thanks for putting this up here :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe is a great one and I forgot the last step...I forgot to coat in bread crumbs. My husband still raved how great they were and we are now going to try boneless chicken pieces in the batter (minus the bread crumbs). We made a great dip which is an Applebee's copy cat recipe for the blooming onion sauce. Next time I make these I will remember the bread crumbs and I'm sure they will be even better! I can't wait! So easy and delicious!! Thanks for a great batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA
Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 978) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States