Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
i've made this many many times and it is my official onion rings recipe that i will pass on to my children, grandchildren and great grandchildren in the future. the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I was short on potatoes so I was looking for a batter recipe for battered scolloped potatoes. This was perfect, I sliced potatoes 1/4 inch thick in rounds. A few potatoes went a long way doing like this.Thanks next time I will try the onion rings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very tasty but very messy and time consuming. I may try to make a batch ahead and freeze until I am ready cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I read the directions, and then followed them pretty casually. Used beer instead of milk (beer-battered?), and then added some powdered potatoes to the batter. I didn't know how thick the batter should be, so I went with "the thicker the better- more gunk!". I later learned that the thinner batter works better- lighter, crispier, more delicious onion! While I think my rings were pretty successful, making them was such a terrifying experience. When someone else prepares fried foods you don't realize the scope of how unhealthy it is, just deliciousness. I love my occasional share of junk food, though after a few onion rings I just felt really disgusting. Probably good for sharing with many people, though a large serving is just sickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Really good - crispy without the grease. Followed another review using panko - perfect onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
The batter had a weird ... stiff consistency that threw these onion rings off. Maybe two eggs are too many? Flavor was good but the batter was off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this recipe! LOVED how they turned out! The only change I made was that I used equal parts of plain breadcrumbs and panko. The panko gave them a wonderful crunch. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGarcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a GREAT onion ring recipe - can't beat making your own at home and tastes just like your favorite drive-in rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have never made onion rings at home before until I tried this recipe. They turned out great. I don't know why I never thought of making these at home. They so beat the cold onion rings it seems that I get in a restaurant. My husband really liked them too. Instead of having hamburgers and fries, I think I will rotate with the onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best onion rings I ever made. I don't know why this recipe has some bad reviews.This came so well crispy not greasy. I had done breading each single onion slices so took longer but ok. I used Progresso Bread crumbs (Plain) if it helps you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States