Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmleanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I tried this recipe today and absolutely loved it. Hands down the best Onion ring's I have ever had homemade or at a restaurant. Easy to make, really crispy and delicious. Would most definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Ellis Roach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This review will undoubtedly be redundant with the plethora of other positive reviews; however, I made these tonight and they were divine!! It took a little bit to get the flavoring/salt ratio set to give them flavor; I ended up putting some garlic salt in with the bread crumbs (I used panko) that I pulsed in the food processor. That gave them something a little extra that I thought tasted pretty good. The whole process was a little messy even though I used ziploc bags to do the coating. That worked well for the flour, but I would probably use a bowl to do the dredging through the batter. The bag just seemed a little too much of a mess, but yes, cleanup was easy that way. Anyway, this recipe is a keeper! It's a little time consuming but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Did not make any changes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
These were awesome! only thing I did differently was double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Loved it. Huge hit at home...wont be buying frozen onion rings again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
My Onion rings came out amazing!! Definitely 5 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KRS0509
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Fantastic onion rings. Tried another's suggestion to use finely processed panko bread crumbs. Came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slackgeek
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I love these onion rings and have made them several times over the last few years after finding this recipe. They are very messy to make and can be time consuming, but the end result is excellent. I do add seasonings beyond what is in the recipe. It's versatile so I change it all the time. Garlic powder, seasoned salt, pepper, sometimes a little cayenne, parsley, or anything really. I add to both the flower mixture and the breadcrumbs. Tonight, after not having made them for awhile due to the mess factor AND how time consuming they are, I followed the directions in one of the reviews for the "no mess" method. Not only was it "no mess", but it was SO fast! I had 30-40 rings ready to go in the fryer within 20 minutes or less. I'll always make them this way now, and probably much more often now that I can have the prep done so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States