Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These were super, however we followed another reviewers suggestion and used Panko as our final crumb coating. Also, I decreased the salt to only 1 tsp, added 1/4 cup sugar to the egg mixture, and 1/2 tsp vanilla (similar to an old drive-in restaurant)and as modified, we will make these from here on out. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the easy clean up advice from Christina B and that helped a lot. I used the panko breadcrumbs only because it was all I had on hand. I actually loved the panko crumbs better than regular breadcrumbs. This recipe is delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Best onion rings ever! Occasionally, rather than grilling burgers, I'll pan fry them. These onion rings are the perfect complement to the burger. There never seems to be enough. My only complaint is that they take a lot longer than 18 minutes to cook. But the end result is worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
The best one I have ever tried! It fluffs up nicely and covers your onions well (or anything you want to deep fry) As a fan of Paprika spice I added some and mmmm .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe, I recommend using Panko bread crumbs. These were perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very good and easy to make. I cooked them a little lower than 365 as the first ones were too dark for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Tempura batter instead of flour and Panko instead of bread crumbs and they were over the top great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I give it four stars not five stars because the first batch I made was a little bland. For the second batch, I sprinkled the raw onion rings with onion powder, garlic powder and salt. I then followed the recipe exactly from there. For a quick and easy dipping sauce, I mixed equal parts ketchup and mayo; perfect! Between my husband and my kids there wasn't a ring left. I used two ziploc bags to coat the rings so clean up was fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I actually made a mistake when mixing the batter up. I was just looking at the ingredients and so I mixed everything together! It was soooo thick, so I read the instructions and realized what I'd done wrong. Anyway, I just added about a cup more milk and made a batter that I coated the onion rings in before deep frying! Wow were they ever good! My kids were eating them faster then I could keep up! These are my favorite onion rings ever! I think I'll make the mixing mistake again because it made it so much easier for me. One less step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great basic recipe, Used panko in the food processor, seasoned with Cayenne pepper, Salt,smoked paprika . After slicing onions I soaked them in milk for a few hrs.(Could go overnight) Helps everything stick to the onion. 4.5 stars b4 changes, 5 star after Happy Eats :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rod_R

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States