Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best onion rings I ever made. I don't know why this recipe has some bad reviews.This came so well crispy not greasy. I had done breading each single onion slices so took longer but ok. I used Progresso Bread crumbs (Plain) if it helps you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I loved it! I used Panko instead of the bread crumbs and added seasoning to the panko. The Panko helped to make them super crispy! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
was good but took to long and messy....had trouble with this on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I had to add that there is no need to tweak this recipe at all - it is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe the first time I tried it! I have even used it for fried chicken multiple times (add spices like cajun or smoked paprika to the batter and bread crumbs), it is amazing!! It's the only way I cook onion rings and fried chicken now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunny170

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these Onion Rings one day for my family but instead of using 1 onion I used 2 because I thought 1 just wouldn't be enough. HUGE mistake! 1 onion would have been plenty. I also used Panko bread crumbs for that incredible crunch. Absolutely delicious and way better than any Onion Ring you order in any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Pretty foolproof recipe, but a little messy and the ratio of batter to onion to breadcrumbs was off. I needed at least twice as many breadcrumbs to get through an entire large onion, and there was leftover batter. With panko crumbs, these come out impeccably crunchy. I fried them in a skillet with about 1/2 inch of oil and flipped them once as I don't have a deep fryer - works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Substituted cracker crumbs for the bread crumbs. It was delicious, tasted like they came from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
It was very good and I loved it. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My first time making onion ring. I wanted a more fluffy yet crispy breading.SO I did tweaked it a bit. I made bread crumbs from bread slices baked 10-15 mins in oven, then crumbled in blender. I added the bread crumbs to the batter and dipped rings and immediately dip rings in oil cooking for about 2 mins. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States