Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
MMM delicious!! We loved this recipe!! The only thing we did different was to use buttermilk (you can buy or make at home which we did - lots of recipes online for it!) - I found it made the batter stick better to the rings. Definatley worth a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I've made other onion ring recipes and some were a disaster. The coating just fell off and they were soggy. Last night I made this recipe and the onion rings were absolutely fantastic! Flavorful and wonderfully crunchy! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The best Onion Rings I have ever made. (so far) :) Sea salt at the end though, not seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RastaPie
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These were so good, a little messy to make but taste absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was awesome! At the suggestion of another reviewer, I used ziploc bags instead of bowls and it wasn't too terribly messy. I had to make my own bread crumbs by using a toaster to get the bread super crispy and then ground it up in a food processor. I added some Cajun seasoning, crushed black peppercorn, cayenne pepper and chili powder to the bread crumbs, then shook it up really well to incorporate. I generally prefer olive oil for health reasons, but was out so I used vegetable oil. These turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awesome Erica!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
My husband made these today and they were amazing! He used italian style bread crumbs and they made them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Everyone is right!! These are the best ever onion rings. Better than restaurants or fast food. Very yum, yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by psychedilemma
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
So delicious! I have no deep fryer, so I just used a deep pan. I used a mixture of panko crumbs and regular bread crumbs. Also added chilli powder, curry powder, onion powder, ginger, dried sweet basil, cumin, a tiny bit of nutmeg, salt, and pepper. Very flavorful, with a nice crunch! Would definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psychedilemma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
The only thing I did different in making this recipe is I used Bread Crumbs with Italian Seasoning instead of just plain bread crumbs. I made the change due to not having plain bread crumbs, but it was Really good, that I didn't even use ketchup to eat them as I normally do! They were only 'lightly' flavored & came out PERFECT! This is a GREAT Recipe that has made my ~personal~ Recipe Box!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 925) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States