Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Oh wow, these were really good. Just perfect. I used seasoning salt and a little pinch of cayenne pepper, garlic salt and some pepper to season the flour before coating. These were AWESOME. Once you eat these, you will never eat a frozen onion ring again. These were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe. I cut up 1 1/2 onions and still could have covered 1 more onion with this amount of ingredients. I added a 1/2 t cornstarch, and smoked paprika for flavor. My hubby loved these so much! I used Panko breadcrumbs of course, why would anyone use any other kind. They give the best crunch on everything. Thanks to "Christina B" Jan 16, 2008 for her suggestion of using a plastic bag. WOW. No mess is correct. I will always use your method Christina...so easy. Delicious folks ! Give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Absolutely the best! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My rings didn't come out fully coated after the frying, I think it was due to the dipping in the breadcrumbs. BUT they were still good the taste of the batter was great. Next time I will dip w/Out the breadcrumbs to see how they come out. All in all fantastic for my first try at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
DELICIOUS!, also really good made with french onion ring crumbs, i found them at the dollar general..and they were soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
WOW! These are amazing!! We made them as is and they were excellent! We also tried them with Panko bread crumbs instead and they were also great but the bread crumbs were a little too big so we ground them up in a food processor and these were the best, better than regular bread crumbs or non ground Panko ones. We also tried frying them and baking them. Frying of course tasted the best but baking was a great alternative if you want low fat. For those, I greased a baking sheet and baked them at 400 degrees for 20 min. They turned out light and crispy. Both the fried and baked onion rings were great left over. I just put them on a cookie sheet in the oven at 400 degrees until they were heated. They were just as crispy as the day they were made after being heated that way. To make the onion rings easier, I put the flour mixture in a large zip lock bag and tossed the onion rings around. I then took them out and added the egg and milk to the flour mixture in the bag, stirred it and then added the onions and mushed them around until coated. I then followed the rest of the directions from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
yum yum yum, the only thing I did different was cornflakes instead of bread crumbs, cuz that's all I had. Buttermilk instead of regular milk. Oh and adding garlic, onion, salt, pepper, & cayene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I added some garlic powder to the flour mix. I also used Panco instead of bread crumbs, I really think this made them ridiculously crunchy and yummy:) Everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Made for guests who all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
i wish i could give this more stars. this is the best way to crisp up any recipe that you need to bread. so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States