Old Fashioned Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Definitely a lot of prep work, but well worth it. I heavily seasoned the flour ( Tony's, garlic powder) but it still could have used more. Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Came out great! I love thin crispy onion rings and this recipe gave me that. My boyfriend loves them and said they were way better than any onion ring you get at fast food or even sit down places. I do mix the crumbs and flour mixture all together to save time and mix onions in all together. Simple recipe but comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bryce Conkle
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Easy but takes a bit of your time. Well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryce Conkle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Unbelievably good. I used Panko bread crumbs and they were crunchy goodness! Best homemade onion rings ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! I used panko for the breadcumbs. Served at a dinner party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hall Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fede86
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Placed all the dry ingredients in a zip lock bag, and tossed the onion rings in it. Added all the wet ingredients into a bowl and whisked them together. Added all the wet ingredients into the ziplock bag and mixed. In a separate plate added panko bread crumbs and placed the O rings in it one by one and set them aside in a cookie rack. Added a little extra pepper, paprika and salt. Came out great, perfect golden brown. Fried them 1 min on each side on med high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Loved these onion rings, so crunchy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin momma
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Very good recipe! My husband loved it and I must say, I felt like I was eating them in a restaurant that a chef prepared for me.. Except I'm the chef up in here!! Loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
They were good. A bit doughy sometimes but that may have been because I didn't put them on a rack to drip! Would def do again! P.s. I did not bread crumb them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Rizzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Throughout the years I've attempted to make onion rings at home, both with store purchased mix as well as from scratch mixtures. This one blew me away!! I couldn't have found a better recipe! I made it exactly as the recipe stated, aside from using the panko crumbs I had on hand, as well as 3tbs of regular seasoned bread crumbs. Yes, it's a messy recipe to make (although the tips about the cooking rack were awesome!), it's completely worth it. They looked fantastic before they went in the oil and they looked even better when they came out. Not only was the onion cooked inside, but the outside was PERFECT! Crispy, light and the flavor was spot on! One of my daughters is fairly picky about onion rings and even she enjoyed them. I will always, ALWAYS use this recipe! I wish I could have given it ten stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrettyProphet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Parma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States