Old Fashioned Mac'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I do not think we would like the soy milk, could I substitute that with like 2% milk? The whole recipe sounds yummy except for that part. :-( Help Nana! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I substitued for 2% and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fabiola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Yummy recipe. I used skim milk & italian-style bread crumbs & it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
The taste was ok, but I didn't feel like the cheese distributed throughout the dish very well. It melted, but it was right where the chunk of cheese was, it didn't spread. Maybe I didn't cube it small enough, I'm not sure what went wrong. I also used italian bread crumbs for the topping and 1% milk instead of soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I did not care for this recipe....it was very dry and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I've made this twice now, and both times it was a crowd hit - first thing gone from the table, and in record time. I used extra sharp cheddar cheese. The first time I cubed the cheese, the second time I shredded - both came out equally delicious. I also added some parm cheese to the panko topping - it browned nicely in the oven and gave it that little bit of extra flavor. I used a mix of 1/2 & 1/2 and whole milk in place of soy milk the 1st time, all skim milk the second time, and again, both were delicious (obviously the first was more rich). If you're trying to save a few calories, I forgot the melted butter the 2nd time and nobody noticed. Thanks so much for a wonderful mac & cheese recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Was easy to do and my kids LOVED this! Better than making the Kraft processed Mac N Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Verry easy ! took no time at all ! time to eat !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
It was very simple to make but dry and not creamy. I used garlic/herb bread crumbs and that was tasty...might look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was okay. It seemed a bit dry. There was a lot leftover. Not a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika D. Melrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States