Old-Fashioned Macaroni, Tomato, and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Made this for dinner last night and my husband and I loved it. I appreciate that Allrecipes has a calculate button as I used it on this recipe to take the 12 servings down to 6. I wanted some leftovers for lunches but didn't need 12 serving leftovers! The 2 changes I made (because it is what I had on hand) was my diced tomatoes had jalapenos in them and my cream cheese had chives in it. I think the jalapenos added a nice kick to the recipe, but it didn't make it too spicy. I froze a container for our college son. This would be a great recipe to take to a large gathering as even half a recipe took the 3 qt. baking dish to bake. Will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This a a good recipe, just not the macaroni and cheese flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weed, California, USA
Living In: Yreka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alta
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I love this recipe and have made it so many times I've lost track. I now add some ricotta cheese to give it a bit more creaminess, but not too much. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We had a family gathering day last weekend in the local park and everyone came back for more, most of all the young ones, they ate it up. However, I did make some minor changes to the recipe, combined four of our favorite cheeses: sharp cheddar, monterey jack,colby jack and shredded Parmesan, the cheesier the better for us. More hot sauce was needed as well for us. A little more cream cheese as well, came out great and will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. We loved this southern style casserole! It was delicious and so easy to make. Thank you, Alta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Really good. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, cut down on the ground pepper and salt, and added more hot-sauce. I think the flavor from pepper/hot sauce and the paprika is just a little too strong, so next time, I'll be more careful with those. Otherwise, it was good! Note: Used 3/4 box of pasta and baking time was 45- 50 minutes, due to water from tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
just ok for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very easy to make. I took this to a potluck at work, and everyone enjoyed it. I agree with the previous post--add a little extra hot sauce for more flavor, and I would also add a little extra cheese the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDRETH1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Just reduce the black pepper to 1 teaspoon and fix the prep process and this is a magnificent dish. Perhaps the author goofed when posting 1 tbs. of pepper, because that is waaaay too much. It's overpowering and you can't taste anything but heat. This dish was so beautiful, and the ingredients seemed to be so spot on that I decided to give it another try with less pepper-- and I was right. There isn't a person I've served this to who hasn't asked me for the recipe or additional helpings to bring home with them. I don't measure the paprika; I just sprinkle whatever amount looks nice across the top. PREP CORRECTION: throw drained mac in a seperate bowl, and then add butter, cheddar & toms. Mix well. Pour that into prepared 13x9 casserole dish. Then pour liquid mixture from blender all over top of maccaroni mixture. Sprinkle entire top with paprika so it looks nice and even. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Mac and Cheese

See how to make a cheesy, kid-friendly favorite.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States