Old-Fashioned Macaroni, Tomato, and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Made this for dinner last night and my husband and I loved it. I appreciate that Allrecipes has a calculate button as I used it on this recipe to take the 12 servings down to 6. I wanted some leftovers for lunches but didn't need 12 serving leftovers! The 2 changes I made (because it is what I had on hand) was my diced tomatoes had jalapenos in them and my cream cheese had chives in it. I think the jalapenos added a nice kick to the recipe, but it didn't make it too spicy. I froze a container for our college son. This would be a great recipe to take to a large gathering as even half a recipe took the 3 qt. baking dish to bake. Will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This a a good recipe, just not the macaroni and cheese flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weed, California, USA
Living In: Yreka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alta
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I love this recipe and have made it so many times I've lost track. I now add some ricotta cheese to give it a bit more creaminess, but not too much. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We had a family gathering day last weekend in the local park and everyone came back for more, most of all the young ones, they ate it up. However, I did make some minor changes to the recipe, combined four of our favorite cheeses: sharp cheddar, monterey jack,colby jack and shredded Parmesan, the cheesier the better for us. More hot sauce was needed as well for us. A little more cream cheese as well, came out great and will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. We loved this southern style casserole! It was delicious and so easy to make. Thank you, Alta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Really good. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, cut down on the ground pepper and salt, and added more hot-sauce. I think the flavor from pepper/hot sauce and the paprika is just a little too strong, so next time, I'll be more careful with those. Otherwise, it was good! Note: Used 3/4 box of pasta and baking time was 45- 50 minutes, due to water from tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
just ok for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very easy to make. I took this to a potluck at work, and everyone enjoyed it. I agree with the previous post--add a little extra hot sauce for more flavor, and I would also add a little extra cheese the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea Sturch Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Keep it simple...layer the macaroni, add the shredded cheese drizzle with a mix of diced tomatoes and rotella, do the same with the second layer....top with a solid layer of cheddar and american. The only ingredients..cheese, mac and tomatoes(hit the tomatoes/rotella in the blender(stir). bake 35-45 minutes at 350...great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Mac and Cheese

See how to make a cheesy, kid-friendly favorite.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States