Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Although the title says "Old Fashioned" I think this recipe is wonderfully unique. Garlic is the KEY to this recipe! Don't even think about reducing it! This is a recipe my late wife used to make for picnics, potlucks, etc. and every time she served it, there were people asking for the recipe. I've lost her original recipe, but I'm so glad I found this one! I've been cravin git!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this and changed this alittle b/c it was alot like a recipe my mom used to make. I used a whole box of macaroni, I added 3 long pickle quarters chopped into small pieces, I also added about 2 tbs of the pickle juice and I only used 3 heaping tbs of mayo since I added the pickle juice. I also didn't use the mustard and I added season salt w/ the seasonings, I also used less garlic powder, without even trying it 2 tbs sounds like ALOT of garlic I was wondering if it should read 2 teas. I probably added about 1/2 teas. I added the rest of the ingredients it called for. It looks wet at first but after sitting in the fridge for an hour or so the wetness soaks in and it was perfect! This was AWSOME!!! You could do alot to this recipe and it would come out great each time! Thanks.. I really missed this recipe and I'm glad you were featured on todays Daily Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good pasta salad. I substituted light Miracle Whip for the mayonnaise, and reduced it to 1/2 cup. I also substituted red pepper and dijon mustard for green and regular. I reduced the garlic powder to 2 tsp, and added 1 Tbl of cider vinegar, 1 tsp prepared horseradish, and two chopped hard-boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
this is recipe I make all the time and I am asked for the recipe all the time. My grandmother used to make it and she was known as a great cook in her town. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this without tuna as a traditional mac salad and it was a big picnic hit. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
My husband and I thought this recipe was very good. I only used 1 cup mayo and added a boiled egg. Also I didn't have macaroni so I used whole wheat noodles. I wasn't sure how it would turn out but it was good. I'm sure with macaroni it will be great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Made it as written and we thought it was good. Then took the advice of other reviewers and replaced one can of tuna with 2 hard boiled eggs. We liked it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
As is I would only rate a 3 as there is way too much garlic powder per our taste. I think this recipe does have a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a great classic macaroni salad. I make it without the mustard and it is always perfect. It's a hit in the summer at picnics, family reunions or whenever the family just gets together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I really loved this recipe. The only thing I did different is instead of rinsing off the noodles I drained them and I added 6 slices of kraft American cheese and omitted green peppers and mustard. Instead I added 3 tbsp of French dressing. I did all this at once. No extra bowls or cooling off and instead of using a spoon to stir, I used my hands, it was excellent. I did notice that the recipe asked for 2c of noodles but I used 4c of dry elbow noodles, I could've used a little more mayo but still I put it refrigerator over night and it was good. We had it Memorial day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States