Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
this is recipe I make all the time and I am asked for the recipe all the time. My grandmother used to make it and she was known as a great cook in her town. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this without tuna as a traditional mac salad and it was a big picnic hit. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
My husband and I thought this recipe was very good. I only used 1 cup mayo and added a boiled egg. Also I didn't have macaroni so I used whole wheat noodles. I wasn't sure how it would turn out but it was good. I'm sure with macaroni it will be great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Made it as written and we thought it was good. Then took the advice of other reviewers and replaced one can of tuna with 2 hard boiled eggs. We liked it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
As is I would only rate a 3 as there is way too much garlic powder per our taste. I think this recipe does have a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a great classic macaroni salad. I make it without the mustard and it is always perfect. It's a hit in the summer at picnics, family reunions or whenever the family just gets together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I really loved this recipe. The only thing I did different is instead of rinsing off the noodles I drained them and I added 6 slices of kraft American cheese and omitted green peppers and mustard. Instead I added 3 tbsp of French dressing. I did all this at once. No extra bowls or cooling off and instead of using a spoon to stir, I used my hands, it was excellent. I did notice that the recipe asked for 2c of noodles but I used 4c of dry elbow noodles, I could've used a little more mayo but still I put it refrigerator over night and it was good. We had it Memorial day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Just the way I like it!! For an experiment, I threw in some Dill and Thyme. It was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
i had some left over tuna salad that i knew no one would touch in days, so i made this. i halved the recipe, and by golly it was g-o-o-d. i was jonesing for that macaroni salad one of my staff shared with me so i added some raisins. it was a great contrast to the mustard. (for some reason, the mustard really stood out.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I TRYED THIS RECIPE, I USED EGGS INSTEAD OF TUNA, WE'RE NOT BIG TUNA FANS, AND ADDED HALF OF AN ONION, LITTLE PAPRIKA AND MIRACLE WHIP INSTEAD OF MAYO, AND I LIKED IT, AND MY HUSBAND REALLY LIKE IT TOO, THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States