Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Made it as written and we thought it was good. Then took the advice of other reviewers and replaced one can of tuna with 2 hard boiled eggs. We liked it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
As is I would only rate a 3 as there is way too much garlic powder per our taste. I think this recipe does have a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a great classic macaroni salad. I make it without the mustard and it is always perfect. It's a hit in the summer at picnics, family reunions or whenever the family just gets together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I really loved this recipe. The only thing I did different is instead of rinsing off the noodles I drained them and I added 6 slices of kraft American cheese and omitted green peppers and mustard. Instead I added 3 tbsp of French dressing. I did all this at once. No extra bowls or cooling off and instead of using a spoon to stir, I used my hands, it was excellent. I did notice that the recipe asked for 2c of noodles but I used 4c of dry elbow noodles, I could've used a little more mayo but still I put it refrigerator over night and it was good. We had it Memorial day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Just the way I like it!! For an experiment, I threw in some Dill and Thyme. It was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
i had some left over tuna salad that i knew no one would touch in days, so i made this. i halved the recipe, and by golly it was g-o-o-d. i was jonesing for that macaroni salad one of my staff shared with me so i added some raisins. it was a great contrast to the mustard. (for some reason, the mustard really stood out.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I TRYED THIS RECIPE, I USED EGGS INSTEAD OF TUNA, WE'RE NOT BIG TUNA FANS, AND ADDED HALF OF AN ONION, LITTLE PAPRIKA AND MIRACLE WHIP INSTEAD OF MAYO, AND I LIKED IT, AND MY HUSBAND REALLY LIKE IT TOO, THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It's simple to make and it taste just like my grandmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Great recipe if you don't like a sweet macaroni salad. My husband who hates the normal sweet macaroni salad loves this. He said what ever you do don't lose this recipe. I used one can of tuna and three boiled eggs and only 1 tbls of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
We really liked this one. It was a definite keeper. Not a 5 star, but yummy just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States