Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
After tasting this I thought it had waay too much mayo in it, so I kept adding more macaroni..I ended up using the whole box! I added another can of tuna to compensate for the volume. I also only used about 1/2 the garlic powder and mustard. It came out quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I tried this because it didn't have peas! I was very happy with the result!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
The fact that it is a Tuna Macaroni salad should be listed in your title. I make mine with a sweet onion, also for less experienced cooks- mention onion size or to taste. This ammount of mayo is too wet for my taste- I add enough to bind. Don't be afraid to customize this by using Dijon mustard as opposed to yellow mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
TOO WET. OTHERWISE IS WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vabeachgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Great recipe. My family loved it especialy my husband who had 2nds 3rds and 4ths.I did have any black pepper but it was still good. I will b making this again. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Although the title says "Old Fashioned" I think this recipe is wonderfully unique. Garlic is the KEY to this recipe! Don't even think about reducing it! This is a recipe my late wife used to make for picnics, potlucks, etc. and every time she served it, there were people asking for the recipe. I've lost her original recipe, but I'm so glad I found this one! I've been cravin git!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this and changed this alittle b/c it was alot like a recipe my mom used to make. I used a whole box of macaroni, I added 3 long pickle quarters chopped into small pieces, I also added about 2 tbs of the pickle juice and I only used 3 heaping tbs of mayo since I added the pickle juice. I also didn't use the mustard and I added season salt w/ the seasonings, I also used less garlic powder, without even trying it 2 tbs sounds like ALOT of garlic I was wondering if it should read 2 teas. I probably added about 1/2 teas. I added the rest of the ingredients it called for. It looks wet at first but after sitting in the fridge for an hour or so the wetness soaks in and it was perfect! This was AWSOME!!! You could do alot to this recipe and it would come out great each time! Thanks.. I really missed this recipe and I'm glad you were featured on todays Daily Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good pasta salad. I substituted light Miracle Whip for the mayonnaise, and reduced it to 1/2 cup. I also substituted red pepper and dijon mustard for green and regular. I reduced the garlic powder to 2 tsp, and added 1 Tbl of cider vinegar, 1 tsp prepared horseradish, and two chopped hard-boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
this is recipe I make all the time and I am asked for the recipe all the time. My grandmother used to make it and she was known as a great cook in her town. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I made this without tuna as a traditional mac salad and it was a big picnic hit. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States