Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Way too sweet. Next time I'll cut the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephgrem

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I used turkey breast cut up instead of the tuna and used spicy brown mustard and a cubanelle pepper. I was worried about the amount of garlic powder but it worked fine for my taste. I imagine all kinds of add-ins you could try with this but it's very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
If it weren't for all the accessive garlic it would have been a 5. Next time i will cut it back because it's not needed and I may be in pain for hours after eating it. I used sweet peas in place of the bell pepper since we didn't have any and I also added olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very good. I used a can of chicken in replace of the tuna. Other than that I left the recipe the same. I will be making this again. Thank you for sharing it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I have searched FAR and WIDE for this recipe. I am exceptionally picky about my macaroni salad and could never quite replicate my grandmother's recipe, which I loved. This recipe gave me what I needed. However, all I used was macaroni, onion, celery, mayo & mustard. PERFECT and very "old fashioned". Pretty simple and just what I wanted. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This got rave reviews! Easy, quick, delish....a keeper for my party menus! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Too much onion and garlic powder. I like garlic but between the onion and the fake garlic flavor it was not good. May try again with less onion and one real garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We made this for our superbowl party to accompany the homemade burgers my boyfriend made. We omitted the tuna and bell pepper but added fine shredded carrots. We got many compliments on this recipe will be a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
If there is one salad that brings back childhood memories it is this one. Whenever we had a summer picnic it was always on the table. Love it so and glad to have found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great salad. We love garlic so it was a hit. We also used Miracle Whip and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States