Old Fashioned Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Not bad, not good, won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I loved this and have FINALLY found my go-to Macaroni Salad recipe. Was making for a Volleyball gathering so I doubled the recipe but did NOT double the onion or garlic (social gathering/lots of kids). I also omitted the tuna and instead put in 4 hard boiled eggs, and sub'd red pepper for the green, which I minced. If making for home I would leave the onion the same and probably still halve the garlic. This DEFINITELY needs to sit overnight ... the flavors were SO MUCH BETTER the next day ... and onion totally mellowed out (thank god!). Will try with the tuna as well. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a good tuna pasta salad. I will make this again but for our tastes I would cut back on the mustard and the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I always make it with a few changes. I always omit the celery because I don't like it. I also always add about a cup of frozen peas and about 2 T Italian salad dressing to give it a little zip. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
vary good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe is quite good. The celery and green pepper adds some crunch to it. HOWEVER, I tweaked it by adding one cup of mayo and one cup of Miracle Whip (adds some tang and keeps the salad from drying out) some paprika and the missing ingredient, SWEET RELISH. Adding the relish kicked this up to where my family loves the salad more than before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is perfect for me. I used 1 box of elbow macaroni, 1 can of tuna and 5 hard boiled eggs, a splash or two of dill pickle juice, and real mayonnaise with the garlic powder, salt and pepper. Delicious! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Very good. We used orange pepper instead of green. Used about 1/2 cup chopped onion. I only added 1 1/2 tablespoon of garlic powder and only 1 cup mayo. Then we added cucumber and dill pickle relish and it was great. But I am sure it would be great just as written. We just embelished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Loved the recipe, I did not use the chopped bell pepper or celery instead I used egg whites and relish it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Delicious! I added 2 eggs, 10 sliced kalamata olives, and used red pepper instead of green. I want to eat the whole bowl myself. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States