Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Awesome!!! Just like Mom used to make!!! I have never rated a recipe before but one thing I noticed with the reviews...if you are going to rate the recipe make it the way it is written. One of the previous reviewers gave it a four because she changed it all over the place and obviously thought hers was better, I looked at other reviews she has done and has done the same thing to other recioes. Review it on it's merits, not on what you think you did to make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1596 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This was an excellent dish. I made it exactly as written and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
806 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
So Good! Among my friends, I'm known for my mac and cheese, but using this recipe, I really blew their socks off. The addition of the onion really added flavor. The only thing I did differently was used different types of cheese (the secret to my mac n' cheese) I use white sharp cheddar for taste, plain yellow sharp cheddar for appearance, and hot pepper cheese for a bit of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
703 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I have made this twice in the past week! Very good and don't leave out the Swiss cheese even if you think you don't like Swiss. I'm still in shock about a reviewer who took away stars because of an ingredient that she doesn't like. More frustrating is all the people who found that "helpful". For example, I don't like mushrooms, but I don't give recipes a bad review if it calls for them...I just leave them out of the recipe. Wow. I'm in the minority here, but personally I read reviews to find out about the recipe I "click" on, not to see other people using it as a way to get their recipe "out there"...no time for that...sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I LOVE THIS MAC & CHEESE and so did everyone else who had it, even the kids. I only tweaked it a little - I cut down on the onion to taste. I used 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk and for my 3 cheeses, I used white sharp cheddar, mild cheddar, and monterey jack. I had so many rave reviews, someone just asked me to make it for a party of 40! Sounds easy enough! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I make this for every family gathering, only because they ask for it and it has to be the best mac and cheese I have ever made. The only thing different that I do, is omit the swiss cheese and add 8oz. of cream cheese. It's the best and richest you will ever taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Burris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I and millions of other people have been using Velveta for many years. Thank you for sharing your recipe JAYDE. This is exactly how I have made mac and cheese for a long time. With the exception of the swiss cheese (personal preference). The Velveta turns a plain cheese sauce into a creamy cheese sauce. I usually leave mine on the stove on low heat while cheese melts completely. I only bake in the oven if I use cracker or bread crumbs with butter on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I was looking for an easy but knock your socks off Mac and Cheese for Christmas dinner. This was definitely it!!!!! The only thing I did different than in the recipe is I added the cheese to the white sauce and melted it in after taking off burner before adding to pasta. I also doubled recipe. Just for some little extra something I took tbsp of butter melted, half sleeve of saltines and three strips of crisp bacon and crumbled all together in my food processor and added to the top. That topping was the perfect compliment to the cheeses used in the recipe. I also made this the night before. Next afternoon put in oven at recommended cooking temp and added about 15 minutes to cooking time, but came out perfect so definitely a dish u can prepare ahead and bake later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Oh, YES! This recipe turned out so-o-o-o creamy and cheesy. I doubled the recipe so we could have leftovers and my family is really glad I did. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
I love this mac and cheese. I get nothing but compliments about it. At first we thought it a bit plain but we added some pepperjack, and ham and that gave it the flavor we were looking for. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States