Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
After making this recipe I never went back to those box Mac and cheese.after trying this recipe you'll never regret it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was good. I think it would be better if it was more creamy, so I think I might add either more milk or some cheese sauce next time. Very good reheated in the microwave too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this as a side for Christmas Day (thought it would be the kid friendly option!) but ALL the adults loved it too- I only had two small changes- I only used Swiss & cheddar and skipped the processed cheese all together (mostly because we did not have it) and I sprinkled a few bread crumbs on top. I really think making it in a 9x13 baking dish is a good idea- don't try and layer it in a smaller pan- I think it throws off the consistency and you may end up burning the bottom of the pan to get it hot all the way through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Grottke Tegart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Really liked this one! When I next cook it, I shall add a bit more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was very good. I did change some things. I used the cheese I had on hand, which was 8 ounces of cream cheese and cheddar. I made the white sauce and put the cheese in that....then combined it with the macaroni. Sprinkled with bread crumbs and baked. Reminded me of what my mom use to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Finally found the perfect Mac n cheese recipe! Changes: onion powder instead of real, didn't have processed cheese so used combo of mozzarella and jalapeño jack. Will never try another Mac n cheese recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly how it's written. I gave it 3 stars because I felt the original recipe was a bit bland for my taste. It was good, just very mild and what I would consider a "safe" recipe flavor-wise. However, you could easily remedy this by switching up cheeses or adding a little spice(garlic salt on one of the layers?). I will definitely use this as a base recipe and try to tweak it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Sooo good! Just whipped this up for lunch, easy to make! Tastes even better when it has cooled down slightly. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
So this was part of a huge potluck and let me tell you this did not last one hour in a 9x12 pan. I used Swiss, Cheddar, Velveeta, and 1 cup of Cream Cheese, and mix the cheese together. The feedback was extremely positive and I have been inspired to make this again quite soon. This was amazing to offer, delicious to eat, and relatively easy to prepare. Be prepared to be wow'd by your guests. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Turns out creamy and smooth. The onion added a great flavor. My only change was that I added a teaspoon or so of yellow mustard that I heard about from other recipes. The mustard adds a very slight tang. This will be my keeper recipe for mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States