Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Perfect, exactly what I wanted. Great with a sprinkling of smoky paprika in the white cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I didn't have american cheese on hand (processed cheese) so i replaced it with left over pepperjack, along with swiss and cheerer, but it still came out very very delicious!!!! Love this! Next time, I will try it with american cheese! Simple, easy to make, and full of flavor!!! Waaaaaaaay better than instant or restaurant mac and cheese! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by carla
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent!! My family loved it. We don't like onions so I left them out. I also covered top with crushed ritz cracker & melted butter & browned. It was simple to make, perfect for a relaxing Sunday afternoon. Will definitely make again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
After making this recipe I never went back to those box Mac and cheese.after trying this recipe you'll never regret it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was good. I think it would be better if it was more creamy, so I think I might add either more milk or some cheese sauce next time. Very good reheated in the microwave too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this as a side for Christmas Day (thought it would be the kid friendly option!) but ALL the adults loved it too- I only had two small changes- I only used Swiss & cheddar and skipped the processed cheese all together (mostly because we did not have it) and I sprinkled a few bread crumbs on top. I really think making it in a 9x13 baking dish is a good idea- don't try and layer it in a smaller pan- I think it throws off the consistency and you may end up burning the bottom of the pan to get it hot all the way through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Grottke Tegart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Really liked this one! When I next cook it, I shall add a bit more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was very good. I did change some things. I used the cheese I had on hand, which was 8 ounces of cream cheese and cheddar. I made the white sauce and put the cheese in that....then combined it with the macaroni. Sprinkled with bread crumbs and baked. Reminded me of what my mom use to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Finally found the perfect Mac n cheese recipe! Changes: onion powder instead of real, didn't have processed cheese so used combo of mozzarella and jalapeño jack. Will never try another Mac n cheese recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly how it's written. I gave it 3 stars because I felt the original recipe was a bit bland for my taste. It was good, just very mild and what I would consider a "safe" recipe flavor-wise. However, you could easily remedy this by switching up cheeses or adding a little spice(garlic salt on one of the layers?). I will definitely use this as a base recipe and try to tweak it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States