Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is Dee from .NC. Tried it. loved it. I will be making it a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This absolutely is the best mac and cheese I have ever eaten. Usually change something about a recipe but with this one I went exactly by the recipe. The swiss cheese is what makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made this for company since it was so highly reviewed and was greatly disappointed. I found it very bland and while I love onion, the fact that it wasn't sauteed made it stand out as tasting raw. I would make it again but would greatly add flavor with more salt, pepper, garlic, and by sauteing the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe was delicious! The cheeses melded together beautifully and it didn't take long for the dish to be demolished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great recipes. I didn't add pepper because of personal prefrence. l didn't add salt because I thought it would have enough flavor from the cheeses. Next time I will add the salt either when layering like it says or to the pasta water. I was also unsure how to add the velveeta. I think the best option would be to melt it then pour it as needed but because of lack of time I opted to cut it into thin slices and drop it here and there. After baking a mixed it all up and although it was great it looked messy. If you have the time I would suggest the melting then pouring method for presentation purposes. All in all, it was a great recipe that everyone loved and complimented me on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babygurlkatalyn
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I have made this twice (exactly as written) and it was a huge hit both times. In fact, my 72 year old mother said it was the best she had ever had (even better than her own recipe which was pretty darn good). It really is the ultimate comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was pretty good. I feel like it could have been creamier.. I'ma work on that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swedishjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this for the first time. I was in a rush so I just added the cheese to the milk/flour mixture, let it melt, and then stirred in the pasta. The finished product was delicious. I will make this again, although maybe with a little less milk if I don't have time to bake again. It probably firms up in the oven, but the way I had to serve it, it was a little runny. A slotted spoon worked great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
It was very good and everyone enjoyed it. My daughter says it was gooey and delicious. Next time I will probably check and take out 3-5 minutes sooner so it is moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
very tasty. cooked uncovered for a nice crispy top. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States