Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Made this recipe for 35 servings. I substituted mexican cheese for the swiss, to use up what i had. It was a big hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegatarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Needs more flavour - doubled the cheese, still wasn't cheesy enough. Maybe add tuna? Sauce didn't seem very tasty - maybe add cheese to the sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Very good. Made the recipe as is, everyone enjoyed it...Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have never made Mac and Cheese before and this was simple and easy to follow. I did not use velveta because it's one cheese I do not like. I replaced it with some fresh Parmesan. Instead of layering I sautéed the onions in the butter flour mixture. Then added the cheeses. Very similar to the sauce I use for potatoes. I then mixed in the macaroni. Topped with cheese and breadcrumbs and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Meh. This was just alright. My husband didn't care for the onion in this and complained that it overpowered every bite. I didn't mind the onion (I actually enjoyed it quite a bit), but hated the bechamel sauce. I've tried quite a few mac & cheese recipes on here and this certainly is not one of my favorites. Mouse's version is MUCH better, IMHO. While I appreciate the opportunity to try something new, I think I'll stick with what I know we like from now on. Thanks anyways, JAYDE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My husband said he had never had better macaroni and cheese...that earned 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
this was the most delicious mac and cheese I have ever eaten. I made it a complete meal by adding diced ham and frozen peas. and added a little grated cheddar and crushed ritz crackers to the top. also threw on some chopped green onion at serving time. I used all 3 cheeses as jayde instructed and they are a fabulous and delicious combination. the swiss really adds a subtle nutty sweetness that is unbeatable, please don't skip it. I doubled the recipe so I could freeze one for a busy day. I have the 2nd batch in the oven right now and it is making my tummy rumble just smelling it baking. if you like good old fashioned American comfort food, this is the recipe for you. thank you jayde, you really outdid yourself with this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Creamy, heavenly deliciousness. Threw in 3/4 of a teaspoon of chili powder and topped with real bacon bits and 1 1/2 cups of panko breadcrumbs. Oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Probably the best Mac & Cheese recipe I have found to date. Takes me back to growing up on the farm, coming home to bubbling hot mac & cheese. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcrochte
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Perfect level of moist cheese; onion added nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States