Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this as a side for Christmas Day (thought it would be the kid friendly option!) but ALL the adults loved it too- I only had two small changes- I only used Swiss & cheddar and skipped the processed cheese all together (mostly because we did not have it) and I sprinkled a few bread crumbs on top. I really think making it in a 9x13 baking dish is a good idea- don't try and layer it in a smaller pan- I think it throws off the consistency and you may end up burning the bottom of the pan to get it hot all the way through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Grottke Tegart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Really liked this one! When I next cook it, I shall add a bit more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was very good. I did change some things. I used the cheese I had on hand, which was 8 ounces of cream cheese and cheddar. I made the white sauce and put the cheese in that....then combined it with the macaroni. Sprinkled with bread crumbs and baked. Reminded me of what my mom use to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Finally found the perfect Mac n cheese recipe! Changes: onion powder instead of real, didn't have processed cheese so used combo of mozzarella and jalapeño jack. Will never try another Mac n cheese recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly how it's written. I gave it 3 stars because I felt the original recipe was a bit bland for my taste. It was good, just very mild and what I would consider a "safe" recipe flavor-wise. However, you could easily remedy this by switching up cheeses or adding a little spice(garlic salt on one of the layers?). I will definitely use this as a base recipe and try to tweak it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Sooo good! Just whipped this up for lunch, easy to make! Tastes even better when it has cooled down slightly. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
So this was part of a huge potluck and let me tell you this did not last one hour in a 9x12 pan. I used Swiss, Cheddar, Velveeta, and 1 cup of Cream Cheese, and mix the cheese together. The feedback was extremely positive and I have been inspired to make this again quite soon. This was amazing to offer, delicious to eat, and relatively easy to prepare. Be prepared to be wow'd by your guests. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Turns out creamy and smooth. The onion added a great flavor. My only change was that I added a teaspoon or so of yellow mustard that I heard about from other recipes. The mustard adds a very slight tang. This will be my keeper recipe for mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is a great basic, old-fashioned macaroni and cheese recipe. I must address those reviews where someone substantially changes things up and then complains that the recipe wasn't good. Maybe *your* recipe wasn't good, but what you made wasn't the original recipe. Like another reviewer mentioned, I want to see what people think of the actual recipe I'm interested in -- not read their complaints about their own changed-up version. I wouldn't dream of giving a recipe a poor rating when I substantially changed it. I'd have sense enough to realize the problem may have been MY changes. I wish there were a down-vote button so we could designate those type reviews unhelpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this mac and cheese for our Easter get together. Now for our Christmas party my sister-in-law said "Please bring your great mac&cheese." Now I'm famous for this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States