Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good base but definitely need to add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great mac and cheese. I did not use the swiss cheese, but only because I did not have any on hand. I baked longer than the recipe called for because we like our mac and cheese dry and not runny. This is classic good mac and cheese that everyone will love. I get rave reviews every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was very skeptical about putting onions in the macaroni, but I gave it a try because I wanted to try the recipe as written. I am so glad I did. The onions added a very unexpected kick! My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this Mac and cheese!!!! It's definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this exactly how the recipe states.. and the family keeps asking for it :) Definitely part of our dinner menu now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great! Added TS seasoned salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamooshka
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Awesome! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was excellent! I didn't use the processed cheese (Velveeta) that was suggested, instead I used American cheese and used sharp yellow cheddar cheese with the swiss cheese. Since we like a little heat added red pepper flakes and panko bread crumbs on top. Was a hit in my house and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I am absolutely horrible about following recipes to the T, so of course I made my own adjustments. Either which way, even with subbing things both my boys ate it like they have never eaten a meal before. I have a 3 & 1 yr old. I never buy the prepackaged Mac & cheese. Will be keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I followed it exactly and just didn't care for it. The onions were just odd (although I've had garlic in m & c before that was great) and the Swiss cheese made it taste odd. I had high hopes, but was disappointed. Regardless if you want a creamier texture you'll need to at least double the amount of velveeta and probably melt it in the béchamel as it was really hard to work with since you can't shred it. I'd also toss the onions with the pasta before putting in the pan as spreading them was impossible in any even way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I having been searching for a mac and cheese recipe like my moms for years! this has to be it! thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States