Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
After making this recipe I never went back to those box Mac and cheese.after trying this recipe you'll never regret it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was good. I think it would be better if it was more creamy, so I think I might add either more milk or some cheese sauce next time. Very good reheated in the microwave too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this as a side for Christmas Day (thought it would be the kid friendly option!) but ALL the adults loved it too- I only had two small changes- I only used Swiss & cheddar and skipped the processed cheese all together (mostly because we did not have it) and I sprinkled a few bread crumbs on top. I really think making it in a 9x13 baking dish is a good idea- don't try and layer it in a smaller pan- I think it throws off the consistency and you may end up burning the bottom of the pan to get it hot all the way through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiebaker520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Really liked this one! When I next cook it, I shall add a bit more cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was very good. I did change some things. I used the cheese I had on hand, which was 8 ounces of cream cheese and cheddar. I made the white sauce and put the cheese in that....then combined it with the macaroni. Sprinkled with bread crumbs and baked. Reminded me of what my mom use to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Best Mac and cheese I've ever made! Ie been looking for a "go to" recipe and need not look any further. The only change I made was substituting grated mozzarella for the processed cheese. I did this only because that's what I had on hand. It was perfect and will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly how it's written. I gave it 3 stars because I felt the original recipe was a bit bland for my taste. It was good, just very mild and what I would consider a "safe" recipe flavor-wise. However, you could easily remedy this by switching up cheeses or adding a little spice(garlic salt on one of the layers?). I will definitely use this as a base recipe and try to tweak it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Sooo good! Just whipped this up for lunch, easy to make! Tastes even better when it has cooled down slightly. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
So this was part of a huge potluck and let me tell you this did not last one hour in a 9x12 pan. I used Swiss, Cheddar, Velveeta, and 1 cup of Cream Cheese, and mix the cheese together. The feedback was extremely positive and I have been inspired to make this again quite soon. This was amazing to offer, delicious to eat, and relatively easy to prepare. Be prepared to be wow'd by your guests. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Turns out creamy and smooth. The onion added a great flavor. My only change was that I added a teaspoon or so of yellow mustard that I heard about from other recipes. The mustard adds a very slight tang. This will be my keeper recipe for mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States