Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We loved this. I would love to say I didn't change a thing but I ended up using up a few different cheeses we had in our dairy drawer in addition to the cheeses the recipe called for. I made this in a glass bottom dish and baked it with the ham. It got a bit brown on the bottom. (I should have thought of that) Even the brown was tasty but a bit tough. I will make this again. I just made my husband his lunch to take to work and I have to say that this recipe is just as good if not better the next day. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Kim Buzzard
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Fantastic! Omitted the onion because I'm not a fan and added chicken, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Buzzard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This recipe is great! It's the best Mac and Cheese we've ever made. I'm a huge fan of Mac and Cheese but my kid prefered the box kind, not any longer!!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could. We had to double the recipe to have it as a side dish for a family get together (18 people).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made just as directed but without onions & Gruyere cheese instead of swiss. It was a big hit with my kids! Will definitely make again but will try a little more cheese! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tripled recipe for Thankgiving and Everybody raved about! Will definitely be making soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Loved this dish! Based on others reviews, sautéed the onions, doubled the velveeta and melted it with the roux, and mixed the elbow mac with the swiss, cheddar cheese. Tossed in some diced ham. Topped with buttered panko and broiled at the end. Very delicious and my little guys tummies were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was delicious - followed the recipe for the most part but used about half the milk because I don't like when it's too watery. Improvised with the cheese (half cheddar and half american cheese) and omitted the onions. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was amazing! Everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly as it said, and it was perfect! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Called for 4 tbs butter and only 2 tbs flour. Should be 4 tbs flour to equal weight of the fat. Awesome otherwise. Love swiss in Mac 'n Cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was really good. I didn't bake it and I used onion powder instead of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States