Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Kim Buzzard
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Fantastic! Omitted the onion because I'm not a fan and added chicken, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Buzzard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This recipe is great! It's the best Mac and Cheese we've ever made. I'm a huge fan of Mac and Cheese but my kid prefered the box kind, not any longer!!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could. We had to double the recipe to have it as a side dish for a family get together (18 people).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made just as directed but without onions & Gruyere cheese instead of swiss. It was a big hit with my kids! Will definitely make again but will try a little more cheese! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tripled recipe for Thankgiving and Everybody raved about! Will definitely be making soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Loved this dish! Based on others reviews, sautéed the onions, doubled the velveeta and melted it with the roux, and mixed the elbow mac with the swiss, cheddar cheese. Tossed in some diced ham. Topped with buttered panko and broiled at the end. Very delicious and my little guys tummies were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was delicious - followed the recipe for the most part but used about half the milk because I don't like when it's too watery. Improvised with the cheese (half cheddar and half american cheese) and omitted the onions. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was amazing! Everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly as it said, and it was perfect! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Called for 4 tbs butter and only 2 tbs flour. Should be 4 tbs flour to equal weight of the fat. Awesome otherwise. Love swiss in Mac 'n Cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was really good. I didn't bake it and I used onion powder instead of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Just made this recipe for my son's kindergarten thanksgiving party. Here are some small changes that I feel saved some time. After adding milk to the butter and flour mixture I added a 1/2 tablespoon of onion powder (I didn't use fresh onion as I thought the kids would think it was too harsh!) then I added the velveeta cheese and melted it and brought the mixture to a boil. I then took it off the heat and added the remaining cheese and stirred until all melted together. I didn't think the kids needed the extra butter so since I left it off I also didn't see a need to pop this in the oven. WOW. Does this Mac and cheese taste good. I have made my share of Mac and cheese in my days but this recipe is THE. BEST. HANDS. DOWN. The onion flavor is very subtle and adds an extra layer of oomph to this. My husband can't stand Mac and cheese but he has already eaten two big bowls of it! I can't wait until I try this recipe with fresh onion so I can have it all to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States