Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great recipes. I didn't add pepper because of personal prefrence. l didn't add salt because I thought it would have enough flavor from the cheeses. Next time I will add the salt either when layering like it says or to the pasta water. I was also unsure how to add the velveeta. I think the best option would be to melt it then pour it as needed but because of lack of time I opted to cut it into thin slices and drop it here and there. After baking a mixed it all up and although it was great it looked messy. If you have the time I would suggest the melting then pouring method for presentation purposes. All in all, it was a great recipe that everyone loved and complimented me on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babygurlkatalyn
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I have made this twice (exactly as written) and it was a huge hit both times. In fact, my 72 year old mother said it was the best she had ever had (even better than her own recipe which was pretty darn good). It really is the ultimate comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was pretty good. I feel like it could have been creamier.. I'ma work on that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swedishjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this for the first time. I was in a rush so I just added the cheese to the milk/flour mixture, let it melt, and then stirred in the pasta. The finished product was delicious. I will make this again, although maybe with a little less milk if I don't have time to bake again. It probably firms up in the oven, but the way I had to serve it, it was a little runny. A slotted spoon worked great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
It was very good and everyone enjoyed it. My daughter says it was gooey and delicious. Next time I will probably check and take out 3-5 minutes sooner so it is moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
very tasty. cooked uncovered for a nice crispy top. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This M&C has a strange after taste, it is a combination of grease from butter and all kinds of cheese? I had to have a strong coffee to refresh my mouth. I had changed the recipe a bit by omitting the processed cheese and used extra sharp cheddar, maybe it was because of that? Also I'm not sure about pouring the sauce over, rather as many people say, I would mix it into the macaroni. The problem was, when I poured the sauce over the macaroni, it still cooked the macaroni, so the texture of macaroni was some part too soft, and some part not that soft, as pouring doesn't go even over the macaroni. Also, I would add some seasoning (at least salt & pepper) to the cream, and would add some cheese and something else for added flavor, maybe a bit of mustard or sour cream? Not sure, but the cream appeared tasteless to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Got rave reviews for this! I did not have the processed or swiss cheese on hand so used a combo of sharp and a mexican blend. I know we need to rate on the exact recipe, but gave this 5 stars because it does seem very flexible on your cheeses available or preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I truly enjoyed this dish. I'm not a lover of onions, so just sprinkled onion powder in between the layers. Definitely a keeper for me, quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I have been using this recipe for about a year now and have received nothing but rave reviews and requests for the recipe. Everyone loves this stuff! The original recipe is wonderful but I have come to enjoy the following mix of cheeses; 1/4 lb shredded Sharp Cheddar, 1/4 lb shredded Mozzarella, one 10oz can Campbell's Cheddar Cheese condensed soup (undiluted, dropped in dollops evenly across both layers). I also top the entire dish with a thin layer of crushed Ritz Crackers before baking. For a crispy topping, I uncover the dish for the last 15 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States