Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I had doubts when I was making it because it looked like the pan required would be too big for the amount of macaroni and cheeses. It was truly wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and have to say that the swiss cheese was a nice complement to the other two cheeses. This will be my go to Mac & cheese from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Simply excellent as written. It is the only Mac & cheese recipe that I will make henceforth. Cudos to Jayde175 for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This recipe was delicious, I used shell macaroni and I did add some dry mustard, a sprinkle of Cheyenne pepper and a package of chopped crab and I also doubled the recipe as well. It was very creamy & cheesy. I also topped it with a mixture of seasoned bread crumbs and parmesan cheese and dotted it with butter. I also sauteed the onion & minced garlic in the butter before adding flour and melted the cheeses in the hot sauce before mixing with cooked shells. My hubby and friend loved it too. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
What A Treat! Used Mexican shredded cheese instead of processed (omits additives), fat-free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk, and baked in a smaller pan. Added a layer of fresh baby spinach just b4 last cheese layer and substituted snipped green onion tops. Finally, topped with flavored panko and did not cover with foil. Crispy top and ready in approx 35 minutes. One of the best yet, and we've tried 'em all, including in our smoker. Thanks, Jayde175!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Delicious as is! When I want a complete one dish meal I add rotisserie chicken and broccoli or peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
It was delicious just like it was written. (clap clap)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Rating this a '5' although I prefer my Mac & Cheese with a a bit more complex a flavor. After the first few run-throughs, I greatly increased the % of cheddar and its sharpness (Cabot's "Seriously Sharp"). Have also added garlic & 1/2 tsp of half sharp paprika, topping the dish with Panko crumbs dusted with sweet paprika. Nevertheless, still a delightful recipe in its original formulation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is Dee from .NC. Tried it. loved it. I will be making it a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This absolutely is the best mac and cheese I have ever eaten. Usually change something about a recipe but with this one I went exactly by the recipe. The swiss cheese is what makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made this for company since it was so highly reviewed and was greatly disappointed. I found it very bland and while I love onion, the fact that it wasn't sauteed made it stand out as tasting raw. I would make it again but would greatly add flavor with more salt, pepper, garlic, and by sauteing the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States