Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
The whole family loved this recipe. Didn't have Swiss cheese on hand, but topped it off with fresh Parmesan. Had to hide the onion in the rue/cream sauce because of the kids. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Metlakatla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by This_Girl_Rachel
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made this recipe because it was the recipe of the day, and let me tell you this recipe was fantastic! I didn't have elbow macaroni, so I substituted penne, and instead of cheddar, swiss, and cheese food, I used a cheese blend that I had on hand! I also added bread crumbs to the top to add a little something extra! This recipe is fantastic and I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by This_Girl_Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Great comfort food dish. I didn't have the processed cheese on hand so we used more Swiss & Cheddar cheese, which worked very well. Next time I will exclude the onion or cook seperately as it was not fully cooked at the point that the rest of the dish was ready to be removed from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This Mac & cheese was very good. I would definitely make this again. I did make a couple changes. I used 1/3 package of sharp cheddar and 1/3 package of taco mixed cheeses. I also roughly crumbled some whole wheat crackers on top and added some pats of butter over the crackers. I might try sautéing the onions next time, but it was tasty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliadevos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Make a gluton free version of this and no one can tell the difference! Just use rice pasta. I have found that the fusilli from Tinkyada works really well. Make the white sauce with cornstarch (heat milk and butter to just about boil then add 2 tablespoons of cornstarch that has been mixed with 2tablespoon COLD water or milk, stir constantly until it boils). Voila, glutton free and people love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this recipe twice over the weekend for two different events and got great compliments both times. I did not add onion due to personal preference and I melted the cheese into the white sauce because it wasn't all already shredded, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. I saw one review that said that she mixed it together and served it from the stove top. I tried it before baking it and thought it tasted okay, but after baking it was delicious. I've never made macaroni and cheese with processed cheese because it doesn't really appeal to me but it does make a difference. This is a basic macaroni and cheese recipe. I'll probably experiment with other cheese combinations to see what I can create. I love feta and think a little might give it the extra kick I really love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this last nite, and it was yummy. I followed the recipe but after covering the bottom with macaroni I added cooked mild sausage and diced ham, then pouring half the cheese sauce, then finishing it with more macaroni and cheese sauce. What a meal. Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Very good recipe, actually one of the best that I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I used 16 oz of "mac and cheese" shredded mix (cheddar, swiss, american) which made it a simple and tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It was my first time cooking some mac&cheese and it was delicious. The recipe is easy to follow and the finished dish is really good. It's perfect for cheese lovers like me ^^ I'm definitely adding this to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States