Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
My teenage boys grew out of the box mac n cheese years ago and always hesitate when someone makes homemade m-n-c! Made this last night (as written) and those 3 boys were diving at the dish 3x over! And if I like something I cook, I usually don't comment out loud that it's good.... But I was raving around the table with everyone else on how awesome this is! Definitely a keeper ---WHEN I'M NOT WATCHING MY FIGURE! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Lewis Hanby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
So I did not make it exactly the same, and was disappointed with the instructions. I am using this to experiment with recipes and learn how to cook as I am a guy and didn't cook a whole lot growing up.. that being said it seemed fairly easy, but a warning should be put out about how faster milk boils over!! haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
LOVE! Mac & cheese Perfection recipe as is. Needed 15 more mins in oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
We really enjoyed this, altho initially it doesn't taste like a traditional mac & cheese. It was much better(to us) the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this for my husband and he thought I was a genius!!! It's hard to find something so simple to make that is so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is my families absolute favorite Mac & Cheese. My hubby is in charge of making this and there are never any leftovers. Tonight he has added seasoned ground beef and bacon to it so it is our entire dinner along with tossed salad and homemade dressing. I am sure it will be just as delicious with the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Old fashioned mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I did not like the Swiss cheese or the onion in this Mac and cheese. The butter and flour for the roux should be in equal amounts and NOT cooked over medium-high heat! I learned this the hard way because it did not form into a paste, but instead it started turning a dark brown and smelled like it was burning. I saved the roux, but still didn't like this because of the onion and Swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good base but definitely need to add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great mac and cheese. I did not use the swiss cheese, but only because I did not have any on hand. I baked longer than the recipe called for because we like our mac and cheese dry and not runny. This is classic good mac and cheese that everyone will love. I get rave reviews every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States