Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Just made this recipe for my son's kindergarten thanksgiving party. Here are some small changes that I feel saved some time. After adding milk to the butter and flour mixture I added a 1/2 tablespoon of onion powder (I didn't use fresh onion as I thought the kids would think it was too harsh!) then I added the velveeta cheese and melted it and brought the mixture to a boil. I then took it off the heat and added the remaining cheese and stirred until all melted together. I didn't think the kids needed the extra butter so since I left it off I also didn't see a need to pop this in the oven. WOW. Does this Mac and cheese taste good. I have made my share of Mac and cheese in my days but this recipe is THE. BEST. HANDS. DOWN. The onion flavor is very subtle and adds an extra layer of oomph to this. My husband can't stand Mac and cheese but he has already eaten two big bowls of it! I can't wait until I try this recipe with fresh onion so I can have it all to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This recipe is amazing and would be perfect as is... However I made a few changes, mostly to get rid of what I had at home. My three cheeses were the velveeta, cheddar, and Swiss. I also added 1/2 cup Monterey Jack for a kick. I added a little more onion (because we like our onions) but did fry it up beforehand so the taste wouldn't be overbearing. I also fried up some Italian sausage and layered that in addition to a can of peas (I had to throw a vegetable in here somewhere)! You couldn't even taste the peas! Then I sprinkled with approx 1/4-1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs. It turned out awesome!!! The dish was done when the timer went off, but I added a few minutes on broil to add a hardened surface. Everyone loved it and had seconds, and thirds! No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
We thought this was ok. I made it exactly as written and think that next time I will melt the cheeses and grate the onions. The flavor was really good but we didn't like the onion pieces and the cheeses would have been better blended together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
WONDERFUL!! This is my go to recipe for mac and cheese when i need a quick dinner for my family. my bros love it and my mom and dad can accually eat this mac and cheese! i do sprinkle italian breadcrumbs ontop to make the top a bit crusty. it is veryyyy delicious and i will be making it again very soon :3 yummm thank you for this JAYDE175!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashaylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
It was very similar to a recipe that I have used for years, but couldn't find. I used Tex Mex shredded cheese in this recipe instead of processed. And I added bread crumbs throughout the recipe along with on top I put butter on the bread crumbs and mixed the shredded cheese with the crumbs. My husband loved it and I did too. Loved it! Madonna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T but I halved it since there was only 2 of us eating. It was a hit! My boyfriend's a picky eater but he absolutely loved it. He said it was really good and he's quite selfish with the cooking compliments so when he says it's good, it must be really good. I separated the macaroni into 4 ramekins, just so that it would be individually portioned. He ate 2 ramekins! Next time, i might add ham. It was really good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious!! I usually mix the macaroni and onions and cheese all together rather than layering. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
BEST recipe ever !! I used the velveta pouch and mixed it with the milk along with the salt and pepper in order to know how much was enough. Nothing to add or remove, just perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Matulevich
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was a great recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Matulevich
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
We enjoyed it with a special birthday lobster dinner and green beans, per my son's request. Easy to make and very good. Only change was to melt the cheeses into the milk sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States