Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly how it's written. I gave it 3 stars because I felt the original recipe was a bit bland for my taste. It was good, just very mild and what I would consider a "safe" recipe flavor-wise. However, you could easily remedy this by switching up cheeses or adding a little spice(garlic salt on one of the layers?). I will definitely use this as a base recipe and try to tweak it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Sooo good! Just whipped this up for lunch, easy to make! Tastes even better when it has cooled down slightly. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
So this was part of a huge potluck and let me tell you this did not last one hour in a 9x12 pan. I used Swiss, Cheddar, Velveeta, and 1 cup of Cream Cheese, and mix the cheese together. The feedback was extremely positive and I have been inspired to make this again quite soon. This was amazing to offer, delicious to eat, and relatively easy to prepare. Be prepared to be wow'd by your guests. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Turns out creamy and smooth. The onion added a great flavor. My only change was that I added a teaspoon or so of yellow mustard that I heard about from other recipes. The mustard adds a very slight tang. This will be my keeper recipe for mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is a great basic, old-fashioned macaroni and cheese recipe. I must address those reviews where someone substantially changes things up and then complains that the recipe wasn't good. Maybe *your* recipe wasn't good, but what you made wasn't the original recipe. Like another reviewer mentioned, I want to see what people think of the actual recipe I'm interested in -- not read their complaints about their own changed-up version. I wouldn't dream of giving a recipe a poor rating when I substantially changed it. I'd have sense enough to realize the problem may have been MY changes. I wish there were a down-vote button so we could designate those type reviews unhelpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this mac and cheese for our Easter get together. Now for our Christmas party my sister-in-law said "Please bring your great mac&cheese." Now I'm famous for this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was a huge hit at the thanksgiving table this year!!!! Stayed true to the recipe in regards to using the swiss cheese but I swaped out the processed cheeses for extra sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese to add a little spice. Will be making this again, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Layering the noodles and cheeses is not a good idea. I tried this because I love swiss cheese and onions but the final product wasn't right. The cheeses should be blended into the rue and milk mixture not layered. I rely heavily on the reviews and appreciate substitutions and changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddysgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
i might've done something wrong even though i tried to follow the recipe as precisely as possible...these didn't turn out crispy like they did in the picture, and the onions were absolutely overwhelming. i won't be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I just made this for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it! The onion is fantastic. The only thing I changed was adding breadcrumb topping. (Obviously...I mean come on...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States