Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I did not like the Swiss cheese or the onion in this Mac and cheese. The butter and flour for the roux should be in equal amounts and NOT cooked over medium-high heat! I learned this the hard way because it did not form into a paste, but instead it started turning a dark brown and smelled like it was burning. I saved the roux, but still didn't like this because of the onion and Swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good base but definitely need to add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great mac and cheese. I did not use the swiss cheese, but only because I did not have any on hand. I baked longer than the recipe called for because we like our mac and cheese dry and not runny. This is classic good mac and cheese that everyone will love. I get rave reviews every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was very skeptical about putting onions in the macaroni, but I gave it a try because I wanted to try the recipe as written. I am so glad I did. The onions added a very unexpected kick! My boyfriend and I absolutely loved this Mac and cheese!!!! It's definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was the Mac and Cheese I grew up on in the 1950's. It was so good! Their are probably as many different recipes as there are Grannys and Moms. This is the way we did it, but instead of heating the milk in a pan we used a round 1.5 qt glass Casserole with matching lid. We put a layer of pasta in the bottom, layer the Velveeta (AKA: Pasteurized Cheese Product) and repeat noodles and cheese layers three times to fill. I also add extra cheese on each layer depending on left-overs in the cheese drawer. This time I added some shredded Mozzarella, a broken up slice of Pepper Jack and some Romano grated on each layer. It was spicy! In the past I have used mustard flour, Worcestershire sauce or different cheeses. It's great with Swiss, but I didn't have any. The third layer of cheese is on the top (to brown later). Finally I pour enough milk over the whole thing till it comes about half way up the casserole dish. Cover and cook for about 45 minutes, then remove the lid, raise the oven to 400F and brown 15-20 minutes (depending on your oven). One reviewer commented his dish was 'curdled'. No, the interior is a melted mix of cheese, milk and noodles, but doesn't get creamed as a Bechamel does. That's why I like it! It's 'rustic'! Thanks Jayde...and to all of you who make all those changes and additions-keep it coming! I love folks who know how to play with their food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this exactly how the recipe states.. and the family keeps asking for it :) Definitely part of our dinner menu now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great! Added TS seasoned salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamooshka
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Awesome! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was excellent! I didn't use the processed cheese (Velveeta) that was suggested, instead I used American cheese and used sharp yellow cheddar cheese with the swiss cheese. Since we like a little heat added red pepper flakes and panko bread crumbs on top. Was a hit in my house and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I am absolutely horrible about following recipes to the T, so of course I made my own adjustments. Either which way, even with subbing things both my boys ate it like they have never eaten a meal before. I have a 3 & 1 yr old. I never buy the prepackaged Mac & cheese. Will be keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States