Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Loved it! Best mac n cheese I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love the receipe and have used it over the last couple of years. It is comparable to my family recipe except for the processed cheese food and the onion. The processed cheese I don't like so much, so I don't use it, but the onion addition is great. I'm not even a big mac n cheese fan. but everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
We had this one night with grilled pork chops. Excellent. Now it's our favorite side for the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Made this recipe for 35 servings. I substituted mexican cheese for the swiss, to use up what i had. It was a big hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegatarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Needs more flavour - doubled the cheese, still wasn't cheesy enough. Maybe add tuna? Sauce didn't seem very tasty - maybe add cheese to the sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Very good. Made the recipe as is, everyone enjoyed it...Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have never made Mac and Cheese before and this was simple and easy to follow. I did not use velveta because it's one cheese I do not like. I replaced it with some fresh Parmesan. Instead of layering I sautéed the onions in the butter flour mixture. Then added the cheeses. Very similar to the sauce I use for potatoes. I then mixed in the macaroni. Topped with cheese and breadcrumbs and it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Meh. This was just alright. My husband didn't care for the onion in this and complained that it overpowered every bite. I didn't mind the onion (I actually enjoyed it quite a bit), but hated the bechamel sauce. I've tried quite a few mac & cheese recipes on here and this certainly is not one of my favorites. Mouse's version is MUCH better, IMHO. While I appreciate the opportunity to try something new, I think I'll stick with what I know we like from now on. Thanks anyways, JAYDE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My husband said he had never had better macaroni and cheese...that earned 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
this was the most delicious mac and cheese I have ever eaten. I made it a complete meal by adding diced ham and frozen peas. and added a little grated cheddar and crushed ritz crackers to the top. also threw on some chopped green onion at serving time. I used all 3 cheeses as jayde instructed and they are a fabulous and delicious combination. the swiss really adds a subtle nutty sweetness that is unbeatable, please don't skip it. I doubled the recipe so I could freeze one for a busy day. I have the 2nd batch in the oven right now and it is making my tummy rumble just smelling it baking. if you like good old fashioned American comfort food, this is the recipe for you. thank you jayde, you really outdid yourself with this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States