Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Fabulous recipe...probably the best Mac and cheese I've ever had. The 3 cheeses along with the minced onion give it such a wonderful flavor. As previously suggested, I also added breadcrumbs the last few minutes of baking time and placed under broiler. This one's a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
First time making this recipe...used exact ingredients...really good...will definetely continue making and for holidays too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is a really great recipe. From all of the mac and cheese recipes that I've tried, this is my favorite. Who knew that adding Swiss cheese can make it so delicious! Extremely easy for even a beginner to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this exactly as written and I LOVED it. The flavors just meld together perfectly and the onion adds an extra flavor that I wasn't sure would help, but it did! Great mac and cheese. I agree with a few others here about ratings. Please, if you're going to rate a recipe then make as written. It does no one any good if you're going to substitute left and right and then say it didn't taste good. Or if you don't like onions, skip this recipe, obviously it's not for you! This will be my only Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese recipe going forward. I can't believe how good this came out. I had tried so many mac and cheese recipes on here and none were up to par for me. But this one? It ROCKS!!!!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catchyoulater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Made exactly according to recipe and I couldn't love this recipe any more. Needed to use a slightly smaller pan bit that didn't make any difference. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I got rave reviews from my family with this one. My son said that this is the best Mac he has ever eaten and my husband said I have to make this for get togethers. I think the only thing I would do differently is add some butter crackers on top for some crunch with some bacon and maybe even a little bit of green onion on top. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I will be making this recipe many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have made several versions of mac and cheese because it is my husband's favorite food but this is the best yet. I even liked it and mac and cheese is not my favorite. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I doubled this recipe,added the onions to the sauce while it cooked and added nutmeg to the sauce. Also, I added the cheeses to the hot sauce then added Langostinos to the mix and....heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I had doubts when I was making it because it looked like the pan required would be too big for the amount of macaroni and cheeses. It was truly wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and have to say that the swiss cheese was a nice complement to the other two cheeses. This will be my go to Mac & cheese from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Simply excellent as written. It is the only Mac & cheese recipe that I will make henceforth. Cudos to Jayde175 for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States