Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Turns out creamy and smooth. The onion added a great flavor. My only change was that I added a teaspoon or so of yellow mustard that I heard about from other recipes. The mustard adds a very slight tang. This will be my keeper recipe for mac and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is a great basic, old-fashioned macaroni and cheese recipe. I must address those reviews where someone substantially changes things up and then complains that the recipe wasn't good. Maybe *your* recipe wasn't good, but what you made wasn't the original recipe. Like another reviewer mentioned, I want to see what people think of the actual recipe I'm interested in -- not read their complaints about their own changed-up version. I wouldn't dream of giving a recipe a poor rating when I substantially changed it. I'd have sense enough to realize the problem may have been MY changes. I wish there were a down-vote button so we could designate those type reviews unhelpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this mac and cheese for our Easter get together. Now for our Christmas party my sister-in-law said "Please bring your great mac&cheese." Now I'm famous for this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was a huge hit at the thanksgiving table this year!!!! Stayed true to the recipe in regards to using the swiss cheese but I swaped out the processed cheeses for extra sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese to add a little spice. Will be making this again, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Layering the noodles and cheeses is not a good idea. I tried this because I love swiss cheese and onions but the final product wasn't right. The cheeses should be blended into the rue and milk mixture not layered. I rely heavily on the reviews and appreciate substitutions and changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddysgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
i might've done something wrong even though i tried to follow the recipe as precisely as possible...these didn't turn out crispy like they did in the picture, and the onions were absolutely overwhelming. i won't be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I just made this for Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it! The onion is fantastic. The only thing I changed was adding breadcrumb topping. (Obviously...I mean come on...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
So good! First try with recipe. Did not alter the recipe and it was a huge hit!!! My family loved it and kept getting more!! This won an Oscar for Thanksgiving dinner! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Loved it! Best mac n cheese I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love the receipe and have used it over the last couple of years. It is comparable to my family recipe except for the processed cheese food and the onion. The processed cheese I don't like so much, so I don't use it, but the onion addition is great. I'm not even a big mac n cheese fan. but everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States