Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Made just as directed but without onions & Gruyere cheese instead of swiss. It was a big hit with my kids! Will definitely make again but will try a little more cheese! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I tripled recipe for Thankgiving and Everybody raved about! Will definitely be making soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Loved this dish! Based on others reviews, sautéed the onions, doubled the velveeta and melted it with the roux, and mixed the elbow mac with the swiss, cheddar cheese. Tossed in some diced ham. Topped with buttered panko and broiled at the end. Very delicious and my little guys tummies were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was delicious - followed the recipe for the most part but used about half the milk because I don't like when it's too watery. Improvised with the cheese (half cheddar and half american cheese) and omitted the onions. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was amazing! Everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly as it said, and it was perfect! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The roux recipe part is wrong. Called for 4 tbs butter and only 2 tbs flour. Should be 4 tbs flour to equal weight of the fat. Awesome otherwise. Love swiss in Mac 'n Cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was really good. I didn't bake it and I used onion powder instead of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Just made this recipe for my son's kindergarten thanksgiving party. Here are some small changes that I feel saved some time. After adding milk to the butter and flour mixture I added a 1/2 tablespoon of onion powder (I didn't use fresh onion as I thought the kids would think it was too harsh!) then I added the velveeta cheese and melted it and brought the mixture to a boil. I then took it off the heat and added the remaining cheese and stirred until all melted together. I didn't think the kids needed the extra butter so since I left it off I also didn't see a need to pop this in the oven. WOW. Does this Mac and cheese taste good. I have made my share of Mac and cheese in my days but this recipe is THE. BEST. HANDS. DOWN. The onion flavor is very subtle and adds an extra layer of oomph to this. My husband can't stand Mac and cheese but he has already eaten two big bowls of it! I can't wait until I try this recipe with fresh onion so I can have it all to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This recipe is amazing and would be perfect as is... However I made a few changes, mostly to get rid of what I had at home. My three cheeses were the velveeta, cheddar, and Swiss. I also added 1/2 cup Monterey Jack for a kick. I added a little more onion (because we like our onions) but did fry it up beforehand so the taste wouldn't be overbearing. I also fried up some Italian sausage and layered that in addition to a can of peas (I had to throw a vegetable in here somewhere)! You couldn't even taste the peas! Then I sprinkled with approx 1/4-1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs. It turned out awesome!!! The dish was done when the timer went off, but I added a few minutes on broil to add a hardened surface. Everyone loved it and had seconds, and thirds! No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
We thought this was ok. I made it exactly as written and think that next time I will melt the cheeses and grate the onions. The flavor was really good but we didn't like the onion pieces and the cheeses would have been better blended together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States