Old Fashioned Kentucky Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
this recipe is exactly the same as my grandmothers,except that the amount of sugar should read one and two thirds sugar. 1 2/3 is our it reads in her original recipe.. it is a great cake with a coconut/nut/ broiled icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This cake is not a cake it is more like corn bread. Although it is good, it is definitely not a cake in the traditional sense of the word. If you want something dense with a lot of walnuts that is a little on the dry side, then you've found it right here...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This cake was a favorite of actress Irene Dunne, who was from KY. It is a favorite of my youth. This recipe is nearly identical to my Mother's. It is a superb cake, with a light crumb. The walnuts make it special, esp with a caramel icing. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I thought this cake was too dry. Needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Edible, but not good. As a cake, it was like calling cornbread cake. It was not sweet enough. It would be better called a coffee cake, but then there are better cofee cake recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This cake was very easy to make and turned out very well! Not to sweet but very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I'm so glad I finally found this cake recipe -- we used to make it years ago, but it was lost during a move! It's absolutely wonderful! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This cake is absolutely delicious! It smelled so good in the oven that as soon as it came out I had to have a piece. Highly recommended if you have company coming over last minute. No need to frost, it's perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
I didn't have enough walnuts so I substituted chopped macadamia nuts instead. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Not a sweet cake, but very nice. I made it for my husband's birthday. We liked it, the kids did not. Definitely a "grown up" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States