Old-Fashioned Italian Zucchini Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I am going to assume I just did something wrong which is why I am allowing this recipe two stars. I found the recipe sincerely lacking in flavor, and for some reason my fritters came out thick and spongy- not flat and crispy as expected. I put them in a hot oven to try and crisp them up- no dice! I also followed advice and squeezed out extra water. Next time I will just slice, batter and fry zucchini slices- always a winner and always crispy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Easy, delicious, and a good way to use up a common veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This was a great recipe. I changed it up a bit to have actual quantities because veggies come in many sizes. I made it 2 cups of shredded zucchini and 2 cups of diced yellow squash. I also changed the cheese to locatelli and made it 4 tablespoons. I added a little cayenne too for a kick. Next time I will add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These taste just like my late mother in law's recipe. It is exactly the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
One comment, my Italian mom used to slice the zucchini and spread it out on a cookie sheet with a sprinkle of salt on top, to SWEAT out the excess water before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was very easy to make and very delicious. The basil was almost overpowering so next time I'm going to cut back a bit and add more cheese. I'll probably add some other seasoning as well. Did not have a problem with it being too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Loved how this turned out! Took some time to take but after it was all said and done it was worth it. If you guys want a better version of this recipe check it out at
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Good...but I think it was still a llittle bland. Will try using more seasoning next go round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These were an absolutely delicious way to use up all that zucchini from the garden! Very easy to make. I served them with warm marinara sauce. They disappeared quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparky15003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorefield, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I followed this recipe to a T and they came out bland, flat as a pancake and I will pass on ever making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Maynard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States