Old-Fashioned Honey Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Incredible! I HATE pecan pie and I actually loved this recipe! It's a mellow flavor and I loved how the honey tasted with the pecans. I used a premade crust to save some time. I didn't think the honey overpowered it at all! The only thing I changed was letting the honey cool a few minutes before adding the eggs. Other than that, recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlita Bonita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I had a cookbook with this recipe that has since been lost. It is my family's favorite. We would NEVER eat a corn syrup pie after trying this. My recipe was called Kentucky Pecan Pie. It is SO delicious, not that overly sweet taste you get with corn syrup. SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
i used this recipe with phyllo sheets instead of pie crust, and used a mini-muffin pan to make mini pecan tartlets. i also added a little ground clove. I had leftover pecans i wanted to use, but was dreading the work, and this recipe made it simple! I also dusted the top of them with powdered sugar. Thank you, Holly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Excellent!!! I make this recipe all the time, everyone loves it. I was searching for a pecan pie recipe made with honey due to my diet restrictions. It's soooo easy and it always comes out super sweet and delicious. I think the honey actually brings out and compliments the flavor of the pecans. This is my new favorite pecan pie, and I'm a southern girl, so that says alot!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashelena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I really love this pie! The honey flavor isn't too strong and the calorie content in significantly lessened. My main warning is not to follow the directions too closely, adding eggs to boiling hot honey will cook your eggs, egg drop soup style. Let the honey cool a bit first. This pie comes out darker than its corn syrup cousin. Overall, if you like honey's taste, don't be afraid, this is a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Oh my! This turned out great! Made just like the recipe said but I made a pretzel crust. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I only had about 3/5 of a cup of honey so I substituted corn syrup for the rest and it was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made this pie,but used 2 cups walnuts instead of pecans. Awesome! I made it for Christmas and I am still getting comments on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Love this recipe. We have local honey producers here so I like to mix different honeys together to get the right flavors or add depth to the flavors. I also use an almond, pecan, walnut, raisen and cranraisen trail mix instead of just pecans. This helps add depth to the flavor of the honey(s).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I love this recipe! I made it twice for my Southern Pecan Pie loving Uncle, who never eats desserts anymore due to health concerns, but eats this one! I don't eat sugar, so really don't know what a traditional pecan pie is like, so I can't compare. I cook a lot with honey (my dad is a beekeeper), and I can tell you that the type of honey you use makes a big difference. If you don't want an overpowering honey flavor, then use a light colored mild honey. I use a clover honey which is dark and rich and gives it lots of body. I don't like the store bought clover honey, but I'm guessing this would give it an entirely different taste. I've also used palm sugar (2 cups, since honey is twice as sweet as other sugars), and is much more similar in flavor and texture to a brown sugar (without the high glycemic index.) For those that have dietary restrictions, or prefer a slightly healthier version, this recipe is great! I made it with a gluten free crust so my mom could enjoy it too. It was a hit this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States