Old Fashioned Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
It took me a few tries to get this one right, but I don't have a candy thermometer, so I was guessing the temperature (and undercooked a few times). If you don't have a candy thermometer, you can dip a fork into the candy mixture, and then dip the fork into cool water. If the candy hardens on the tines, then it's the right temperature. I also had a dilemma of flavoring oils vs. flavor extract. I learned that, if you can, oils are better (stronger flavor that holds up to boiling better), but you CAN use extract, but it takes about 4x as much. Also, another reviewer suggested using a pizza cutter to cut these: Definitely do that! So much better than trying to work quickly with scissors and hot sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Perfect. I used cinnamon oil & my candy is great. Didn'tsee the point of confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Cooks right, but needs half a bottle of extract to get anywhere, might need an entire bottle to taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
again recipe from when I too was young. Good advice is to cover your hand with butter which will help while cutting the strips into pieces. We usaully used a small bowl and put butter in it and would just grab a small amount and cover palms and then went to work on cutting pieces. This was a great thing to do as a family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great hard candy recipe. I have also placed Popsicle sticks on a cookie sheet lined with foil and sprayed and then poured the candy mixture into circles over the end of each stick. Individual suckers work well for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe was so easy to follow. I was very nervous about candy making because I was told it was very touchy...but it wasn't bad at all! But it did take FOREVER to get the candy up to 220 degrees, so I pulled up a chair and "watched a pot boil". I couldn't figure out how to cut the candy while it was still hot. But where I come from, people pour the candy into a cookie sheet and smash it with a hammer, so no one noticed. Be careful, because between 250 and 300 degrees, the sugar heats up very quickly. Also I had another recipe from the flavoring insert, and it said to put the coloring in at 250 degrees, and NOT with the flavoring. Other than that, no alterations were made to this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceybug8806

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have been looking for a hard candy recipe for quite a while like I had when I was growing up. Ii have never made it before and I was surprised at how easy it was! My first batch turned out perfectly! I do think it needs a little more of the extract but that is a personal choice. Thank you so much for such a easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Made these canides the other day and they turned out wonderful! Only changes I made was the extract. Instead of using extract I used one dram of LorAnne flavored oil. I made cinnamon, butterscotch, and watermellon. The watermellon was less than pleasing because it turned out too sweet and tasted to much like artificial flavoring. I recommend to anyone that if you do make watermellon to add LorAnn tart & sour enhancer. Tastes very similar to jolly ranchers when the enhancer is added. Great recipe thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Excellent & easy recipe. Cutting with a pizza cutter is the best - no handling hot candy. I've added this to our Christmas traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMCCAUGHNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States