Old Fashioned Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
So much easier than I thought it would be to make! We've already made 3 flavors today and loved every one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Very simple and easy to make! My husband and father in law have asked me to make multiple flavours:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very easy recipe with very good results. I followed the recipe exactly ,except for using strawberry extract instead of mint. Everybody who's tasted this has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nevarferg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I used to make this when I was a kid and sell it on the school bus. Lost the recipe years ago and was very thrilled to find it here again. I made this for Christmas, Red-Cinnamon and Green-Peppermint and gave them out for gifts. The only thing I did differently was I poured them out on a cookie sheet and cut into squares just before hardening and didn't use as much powdered sugar. Thanks for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I never knew I could make hard candy. I have tried several times in the past and had nothing but a stack of pots that needed de-sugaring. I found this recipe and decided to try one more time. It looks and tastes like I have been making candy for years. I used one dram of Cinnamon oil and red food coloring. It looks and tastes just like the old Jolly Rancher cinnamon sticks. Remember those? A bonus is the cinnamon oil makes your house smell awesome, just don't stand over it when you pour it in.... lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I have made 7 batches of this for Christmas this year. I tried Peppermint, Root beer, Cinnamon and raspberry. I put 1 tablespoon in each and they are perfect. I found that the 1/2 teaspoon called for was not enough. I have already shared with friends and family and they loved it. My husband said it is the best peppermint candy he has had and he is not a fan of peppermint. My favorite is by far the root beer. Thanks for the recipe as it is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
We've been making this candy at Christmas time for years, if you want a stronger flavor, you must use an oil based flavoring, an alcohol based flavoring will work, but it won't be as strong of a flavor. Our local Kroger store keeps these oil flavorings at the Pharmacy counter of all places. They are called LorAnn oils (they have a web site) and they come in little bottles,(1.25 oz) and each batch we used one bottle. We made cinnamon, peppermint, cherry and vanilla buttermint, all were delicious! We store the candy in Mason jars and they look awesome in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I poured it onto cookie sheet that was covered lightly with powdered sugar. when it got hard I took a kitchen hammer and broke it up. no sticking and no greasy candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have never made hard candy before and was a little nervous. I did as one of the reviews I read said to do....add 1 Tbsp of extract (cherry), and I ended up adding 4 drops of coloring. I buttered the pan before starting to avoid any sugar crystalizing and used the Reynolds wrap no stick version and nothing stuck! I did use pizza cutter, nice recommendation. The flavor was still very light even with the increase to 1 Tbsp but it may vary from brands. I enjoyed making this recipe and look forward to making it again with many other flavors to give as gifts for Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This Recipe worked really good but it didn't give any sort of time frame on how long it took to cool. It didn't take long to boil though. Overall this recipe worked great! I made Cinnamon, Raspberry and Lemon. On Cinnamon and other Strong flavors I recommend that you only use 1/4 of a teaspoon instead of half. And for the less strong flavors like the Lemon and the Raspberry you should use 2 teaspoons for full flavor and also add some sour flavor enhancer to make the candy sour. And instead of cutting it with shears i just let it harden and beat it with a meat mallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooh's Corner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States