Old Fashioned Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I have been making this for 4o years. I butter foil broiler pans and pour the candy in it, The ridges in pan make strips that can be picked up and cut into small pieces. I always had candy stuck on cookie sheets. this methods works every time. we use this recipes to make candy for our church christmas fair. It sells out every time! Geri Berry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
great candy! found I needed more than 1 teaspoon of flavored oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Great recipe thank you!I just made a bunch for Christmas baskets!I made several batches and made a stop at a bakery supply store to get some crazy flavor oils marshmallow,pina colada,anise,watermelon,banana,and black raspberry....Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My favorite as a kid! BUT BE CAREFUL WHEN MAKING CINNAMON! I remember going to school with blisters all over my face in 7th grade after basking in the steam of a batch of cinnamon flavored candy. The oil is quite strong. Clove is another old fashioned flavor that is excellent, but again be careful of the steam. Sassafras, anise, wintergreen..... excuse me, I need to go make a batch right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tekamah, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is the best hard candy recipe I have found.Plus I love that you show a picture of the finshed product. I think every recipe should have a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I did recipe as stated, except using breaking once cool method instead of cutting method, very pretty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
THIS IS THE ONE RECIPE ANYONE WITH KIDS NEEDS TO HAVE HANDY WHEN THE KIDS NEED SOMETHING TO DO ( WITH PARENTS OF COURSE). MOM AND i USED TO MAKE THIS WHEN I WAS YOUNGER AND LOVED IT, AS DID ALL THE NEIGHBOR AND SCHOOL KIDS !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was a super simple, easy recipe. My first time making hard candy and it worked! I made mine into cherry suckers using LorAnn's Gourmet Cherry flavoring oil. I poured candy into Wilton candy moulds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this was my first attempt at making candy, and i have to say it came out perfect! my daughter loves cinnamon candy, so we did that flavor and she can't get enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The daughter wanted to make candy for Christmas. We made strawberry and root beer. Hard crack stage takes a bit of time to get to, but this is very tasty, will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Surita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States