Old Fashioned Hard Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe and I thought it was great. I passed the recipe on to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The daughter wanted to make candy for Christmas. We made strawberry and root beer. Hard crack stage takes a bit of time to get to, but this is very tasty, will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made this for Christmas and it was gone before the rest of the candy. I used 1 dram of cinnamon oil. I am making it again tonight because my husband likes it better than any hard cinnamon candy he can find. Word to the wise... when you out the oil in, step back and make sure you have your window cracked. Broke mine up with a metal spatula, just a slight tap will do it. This is the best of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was a super simple, easy recipe. My first time making hard candy and it worked! I made mine into cherry suckers using LorAnn's Gourmet Cherry flavoring oil. I poured candy into Wilton candy moulds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by jacquiemiller
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! EASY, delicious and fun! I've been wanting to make hard candy for years and am so glad I finally did, thanks to your how-to and the pictures posted by other people. This is why I love allrecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacquiemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I did recipe as stated, except using breaking once cool method instead of cutting method, very pretty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this was my first attempt at making candy, and i have to say it came out perfect! my daughter loves cinnamon candy, so we did that flavor and she can't get enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My favorite as a kid! BUT BE CAREFUL WHEN MAKING CINNAMON! I remember going to school with blisters all over my face in 7th grade after basking in the steam of a batch of cinnamon flavored candy. The oil is quite strong. Clove is another old fashioned flavor that is excellent, but again be careful of the steam. Sassafras, anise, wintergreen..... excuse me, I need to go make a batch right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tekamah, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very easy and fun. My daughter and I made it to add to Christmas baskets :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
just like iremember when i was little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States